1933 Oscars 5th Academy Awards

1933 Oscars 5th Academy Awards

  • The 5th Academy Awards ceremony took place on November 18, 1932.
  • Host Conrad Nagel returned to MC the event, which was located in the Fiesta Room at the Ambassador Hotel.
  • Films released between August 1, 1931, and July 31, 1932, were eligible for awards.

Noteworthy Moments:

  • Walt Disney won his first ever Oscar for the animated short Flowers and Trees, under a new category called Best Animated Short Film.
  • Grand Hotel won Best Picture without winning any other Oscars, a feat unmatched to this day.
  • Helen Hayes won Best Actress for her role in The Sin of Madelon Claudet, a film that was initially a commercial failure.
  • Flowers and Trees was the first color Academy Award winner and first animated short winner.
  • Arrowsmith and The Champ each earned 4 nominations.
  • Grand Hotel was the only Best Picture winner to be nominated for Best Picture and nothing else.


  1. This was the first ceremony where the winners were kept a secret until the event.
  2. This is the only year that the Academy did not award a Best Director.
  3. The Best Actor category included three nominees who were non-American: Alfred Lunt, Lawrence Tibbett, and Wallace Beery.
  4. This was the last year that write-in votes were allowed, enabling Hal Mohr to win Best Cinematography for A Midsummer Night’s Dream in a later ceremony.
  5. The ceremony was broadcast by Los Angeles radio station KNX.

5th Academy Awards Oscar Nominees and Winners

Outstanding Production:
Grand Hotel – Irving Thalberg for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (WINNER)
Arrowsmith – Samuel Goldwyn for Samuel Goldwyn Prod.
Bad Girl – Winfield Sheehan for Fox Film Corp.
The Champ – King Vidor for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
Five Star Final – Hal B. Wallis for First National
One Hour with You – Ernst Lubitsch for Paramount Publix
Shanghai Express – Adolph Zukor for Paramount Publix
The Smiling Lieutenant – Ernst Lubitsch for Paramount Publix
Best Director:
Frank Borzage – Bad Girl (WINNER)
King Vidor – The Champ
Josef von Sternberg – Shanghai Express
Best Actor:
Fredric March – Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde as Dr. Henry Jekyll/Mr Edward Hyde (WINNER)
Wallace Beery – The Champ as Champ (WINNER)
Alfred Lunt – The Guardsman as The Actor
Best Actress:
Helen Hayes – The Sin of Madelon Claudet as Madelon Claudet (WINNER)
Marie Dressler – Emma as Emma Thatcher Smith
Lynn Fontanne – The Guardsman as The Actress
Best Original Story:
The Champ – Frances Marion (WINNER)
Lady and Gent – Grover Jones and William Slavens McNutt
The Star Witness – Lucien Hubbard
What Price Hollywood? – Adela Rogers St. Johns and Jane Murfin
Best Adaptation:
Bad Girl – Edwin J. Burke, based on the novel and play by Viña Delmar (WINNER)
Arrowsmith – Sidney Howard, based on the novel by Sinclair Lewis
Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde – Percy Heath and Samuel Hoffenstein, based on Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
Best Art Direction:
Transatlantic – Gordon Wiles (WINNER)
À Nous la Liberté – Lazare Meerson
Arrowsmith – Richard Day
Best Cinematography:
Shanghai Express – Lee Garmes (WINNER)
Arrowsmith – Ray June
Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde – Karl Struss
Best Sound Recording:
Paramount Publix Studio Sound Department (WINNER)
MGM Studio Sound Department
RKO Radio Studio Sound Department
Walt Disney Productions
Warner Bros. First National Studio Sound Department
Best Short Subject, Cartoon:
Flowers and Trees – Walt Disney, Walt Disney Productions, United Artists (WINNER)
It’s Got Me Again! – Leon Schlesinger, Leon Schlesinger Productions, Warner Bros.
Mickey’s Orphans – Walt Disney, Walt Disney Productions, Columbia Pictures
Best Live Action Short Subject, Comedy:
The Music Box – Hal Roach (WINNER)
The Loud Mouth – Mack Sennett
Scratch-As-Catch-Can – RKO Radio
Best Live Action Short Subject, Novelty:
Wrestling Swordfish – Mack Sennett (WINNER)
Screen Souvenirs – Paramount Publix
Swing High – Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
Academy Honorary Award:
Walt Disney, for the creation of Mickey Mouse
Oscar® and Academy Awards® and Oscar® design mark are the trademarks and service marks and the Oscar© statuette the copyrighted property, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Pop Culture Madness is neither endorsed by nor affiliated with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.