1930 Oscars 3rd Academy Awards


1930 Oscars II 3rd Academy Awards

  • The 3rd Academy Awards were held on November 5, 1930.
  • The venue for the ceremony was the Fiesta Room at the Ambassador Hotel.
  • Conrad Nagel, a popular actor of the time, served as the host.
  • Films released between August 1, 1929, and July 31, 1930, were eligible for awards.

Noteworthy Moments:

  • All Quiet on the Western Front won Best Picture and Best Director, a film based on the novel by Erich Maria Remarque.
  • Norma Shearer won Best Actress for her role in The Divorcee, a pre-Code drama.
  • Lewis Milestone, who directed All Quiet on the Western Front, was the first to win the Directing Award twice.
  • The Love Parade earned six nominations but didn’t win any awards.
  • Greta Garbo was eventually nominated four times but never received the Academy Award.


  1. There were two ceremonies in 1930; the 2nd Academy Awards took place earlier in the same year.
  2. This was the first ceremony where the awards were officially dubbed “Oscars.”
  3. All Quiet on the Western Front was one of the first films to win both Best Picture and Best Director.
  4. Conrad Nagel was also one of the 36 Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences co-founders.
  5. This was the last ceremony to include two-year spans in the eligibility period for nominations.
  6. Take our 1930 Quiz!

1931 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Outstanding Production:
All Quiet on the Western Front – Carl Laemmle Jr., for Universal Studios (WINNER)
The Big House – Irving Thalberg for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
Disraeli – Jack L. Warner and Darryl F. Zanuck for Warner Bros.
The Divorcee – Robert Z. Leonard for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
The Love Parade – Ernst Lubitsch for Paramount Pictures
Best Director:
Lewis Milestone – All Quiet on the Western Front (WINNER)
Clarence Brown – Anna Christie
Robert Z. Leonard – The Divorcee
King Vidor – Hallelujah
Ernst Lubitsch – The Love Parade
Clarence Brown – Romance
Best Actor:
George Arliss – Disraeli as Benjamin Disraeli (WINNER)
George Arliss – The Green Goddess
Wallace Beery – The Big House
Maurice Chevalier – The Big Pond and The Love Parade
Ronald Colman – Bulldog Drummond and Condemned
Lawrence Tibbett – The Rogue Song
Best Actress:
Norma Shearer – The Divorcee as Jerry Martin (WINNER)
Nancy Carroll – The Devil’s Holiday
Ruth Chatterton – Sarah and Son
Greta Garbo – Anna Christie and Romance
Norma Shearer – Their Own Desire
Gloria Swanson – The Trespasser
Best Writing:
The Big House – Frances Marion (WINNER)
All Quiet on the Western Front – George Abbott, Maxwell Anderson, and Del Andrews, based on the novel by Erich Maria Remarque
Disraeli – Julien Josephson, based on the play by Louis N. Parker
The Divorcee – John Meehan, based on the novel Ex-Wife by Ursula Parrott
Street of Chance – Howard Estabrook, based on a story by Oliver H. P. Garrett
Best Sound Recording:
The Big House – Douglas Shearer (WINNER)
The Case of Sergeant Grischa – John E. Tribby
The Love Parade – Franklin Hansen
Raffles – Oscar Lagerstrom
Song of the Flame – George Groves
Best Art Direction:
King of Jazz – Herman Rosse (WINNER)
Bulldog Drummond – William Cameron Menzies
The Love Parade – Hans Dreier
Sally – Jack Okey
The Vagabond King – Hans Dreier
Best Cinematography:
With Byrd at the South Pole – Joseph T. Rucker and Willard Van der Veer (WINNER)
All Quiet on the Western Front – Arthur Edeson
Anna Christie – William Daniels
Hell’s Angels – Tony Gaudio and Harry Perry
The Love Parade – Victor Milner
Oscar® and Academy Awards® and Oscar® design mark are the trademarks and service marks and the Oscar© statuette the copyrighted property, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Pop Culture Madness is neither endorsed by nor affiliated with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.