1958 Oscars 30th Academy Awards

1958 Oscars 30th Academy Awards

  • Winners Announced: March 26, 1958
  • Venue: RKO Pantages Theatre, Hollywood, California
  • Hosts: Bob Hope, Rosalind Russell, David Niven, James Stewart, Jack Lemmon, Donald Duck (voice of Clarence Nash, via animation)
  • Eligibility Year: 1957

Major Wins:

  • Best Picture went to The Bridge on the River Kwai.
  • Joanne Woodward won Best Actress for The Three Faces of Eve.
  • Alec Guinness snagged Best Actor for The Bridge on the River Kwai.

Directing & Screenplay:

  • David Lean took home the Best Director award for The Bridge on the River Kwai.
  • Best Original Screenplay went to Designing Woman.

Additional Info:

  • Miyoshi Umeki became the first Asian actress to win an Oscar, for Best Supporting Actress in Sayonara.
  • Red Buttons also received Best Supporting Actor for the same film.


  • This year’s ceremony featured one of the most eclectic group of hosts, including animated character Donald Duck, whose voice was provided by Clarence Nash.
  • The ceremony was the last one to feature multiple hosts until 1976.
  • The Bridge on the River Kwai won seven Oscars in total, including Best Picture, Best Director, and Best Actor.
  • This was the first time all five Best Picture nominations were nominated for Best Director
  • Peyton Place tied the record for the most nominations without a win (9) set by The Little Foxes (1941), until 1977.

1958 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Best Motion Picture:
The Bridge on the River Kwai – Sam Spiegel, producer (WINNER)
12 Angry Men – Henry Fonda and Reginald Rose, producers
Peyton Place – Jerry Wald, producer
Sayonara – William Goetz, producer
Witness for the Prosecution – Arthur Hornblow Jr., producer
Best Director:
David Lean – The Bridge on the River Kwai (WINNER)
Sidney Lumet – 12 Angry Men
Mark Robson – Peyton Place
Joshua Logan – Sayonara
Billy Wilder – Witness for the Prosecution
Best Actor:
Alec Guinness – The Bridge on the River Kwai as Lieutenant Colonel Nicholson (WINNER)
Marlon Brando – Sayonara as Major Lloyd “Ace” Gruver
Anthony Franciosa – A Hatful of Rain as Polo Pope
Charles Laughton – Witness for the Prosecution as Sir Wilfrid Robarts Q.C.
Anthony Quinn – Wild Is the Wind as Gino
Best Actress:
Joanne Woodward – The Three Faces of Eve as Eve White/Eve Black/Jane (WINNER)
Deborah Kerr – Heaven Knows, Mr. Allison as Sister Angela
Anna Magnani – Wild Is the Wind as Gioia
Elizabeth Taylor – Raintree County as Susanna Drake
Lana Turner – Peyton Place as Constance MacKenzie
Best Supporting Actor:
Red Buttons – Sayonara as Airman Joe Kelly (WINNER)
Vittorio De Sica – A Farewell to Arms as Major Alessandro Rinaldi
Sessue Hayakawa – The Bridge on the River Kwai as Colonel Saito
Arthur Kennedy – Peyton Place as Lucas Cross
Russ Tamblyn – Peyton Place as Norman Page
Best Supporting Actress:
Miyoshi Umeki – Sayonara as Katsumi Kelly (WINNER)
Carolyn Jones – The Bachelor Party as The Girl
Elsa Lanchester – Witness for the Prosecution as Miss Plimsoll
Hope Lange – Peyton Place as Selena Cross
Diane Varsi – Peyton Place as Allison MacKenzie
Best Story and Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen:
Designing Woman – George Wells (WINNER)
Funny Face – Leonard Gershe
I Vitelloni – Federico Fellini, Tullio Pinelli and Ennio Flaiano
Man of a Thousand Faces – Ralph Wheelwright, R. Wright Campbell, Ivan Goff and Ben Roberts
The Tin Star – Barney Slater, Joel Kane and Dudley Nichols
Best Screenplay Based on Material from Another Medium:
The Bridge on the River Kwai – Michael Wilson, Carl Foreman and Pierre Boulle based on the novel by Pierre Boulle (WINNER)
12 Angry Men – Reginald Rose based on his teleplay
Heaven Knows, Mr. Allison – John Lee Mahin and John Huston from the novel by Charles Shaw
Peyton Place – John Michael Hayes based on the novel by Grace Metalious
Sayonara – Paul Osborn based on the novel by James Michener
Best Foreign Language Film:
Nights of Cabiria (Italy) (WINNER)
The Devil Strikes at Night (Germany)
Gates of Paris (France)
Mother India (India)
Nine Lives (Norway)
Best Documentary Feature:
Albert Schweitzer (WINNER)
On the Bowery
Best Live Action Short Subject:
The Wetback Hound (WINNER)
A Chairy Tale
City of Gold
Foothold on Antarctica
Best Short Subject – Cartoons:
Birds Anonymous (WINNER)
One Droopy Knight
Tabasco Road
Trees and Jamaica Daddy
The Truth About Mother Goose
Best Scoring:
The Bridge on the River Kwai – Malcolm Arnold (WINNER)
An Affair to Remember – Hugo Friedhofer
Boy on a Dolphin – Hugo Friedhofer
Perri – Paul J. Smith
Raintree County – Johnny Green
Best Song:
“All the Way” from The Joker Is Wild – Music by Jimmy Van Heusen; Lyrics by Sammy Cahn (WINNER)
“An Affair to Remember” from An Affair to Remember – Music by Harry Warren; Lyrics by Leo McCarey and Harold Adamson
“April Love” from April Love – Music by Sammy Fain; Lyrics by Paul Francis Webster
“Tammy” from Tammy and the Bachelor – Music and Lyrics by Ray Evans and Johnny Livingston
“Wild Is the Wind” from Wild Is the Wind – Music by Dimitri Tiomkin; Lyrics by Ned Washington
Best Sound Recording:
Sayonara – George Groves (WINNER)
Gunfight at the O.K. Corral – George Dutton
Les Girls – Wesley C. Miller
Pal Joey – John P. Livadary
Witness for the Prosecution – Gordon E. Sawyer
Best Costume Design:
Les Girls – Orry-Kelly (WINNER)
An Affair to Remember – Charles LeMaire
Funny Face – Edith Head and Hubert de Givenchy
Pal Joey – Jean Louis
Raintree County – Walter Plunkett
Best Art Direction:
Sayonara – Art Direction: Ted Haworth; Set Decoration: Robert Priestley (WINNER)
Funny Face – Art Direction: Hal Pereira and George W. Davis; Set Decoration: Samuel M. Comer and Ray Moyer
Les Girls – Art Direction: William A. Horning and Gene Allen; Set Decoration: Edwin B. Willis and Richard Pefferle
Pal Joey – Art Direction: Walter Holscher; Set Decoration: William Kiernan and Louis Diage
Raintree County – Art Direction: William A. Horning and Urie McCleary; Set Decoration: Edwin B. Willis and Hugh Hunt
Best Cinematography:
The Bridge on the River Kwai – Jack Hildyard (WINNER)
An Affair to Remember – Milton Krasner
Funny Face – Ray June
Peyton Place – William C. Mellor
Sayonara – Ellsworth Fredericks
Best Film Editing:
The Bridge on the River Kwai – Peter Taylor (WINNER)
Gunfight at the O.K. Corral – Warren Low
Pal Joey – Viola Lawrence and Jerome Thoms
Sayonara – Arthur P. Schmidt and Philip W. Anderson
Witness for the Prosecution – Daniel Mandell
Best Special Effects:
The Enemy Below – Walter Rossi (WINNER)
The Spirit of St. Louis – Louis Lichtenfield
Academy Honorary Awards:
Charles Brackett “for outstanding service to the Academy.”

B. B. Kahane “for distinguished service to the motion picture industry.”

Gilbert M. “Broncho Billy” Anderson “motion picture pioneer, for his contributions to the development of motion pictures as entertainment.”
the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers “for their contributions to the advancement of the motion picture industry.”

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award:
Samuel Goldwyn
Oscar® and Academy Awards® and Oscar® design mark are the trademarks and service marks and the Oscar© statuette the copyrighted property, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Pop Culture Madness is neither endorsed by nor affiliated with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.