2020 Oscars 92nd Academy Awards

2020 Oscars 92nd Academy Awards

Winners Announced: February 9, 2020
Held at: Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles, California
Host: none
Eligibility Year: 2019

2020 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Best Picture:
Parasite – Kwak Sin-ae and Bong Joon-ho (WINNER)
Ford v Ferrari – Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping, and James Mangold
The Irishman – Martin Scorsese, Robert De Niro, Jane Rosenthal, and Emma Tillinger Koskoff
Jojo Rabbit – Carthew Neal, Taika Waititi, and Chelsea Winstanley
Joker – Todd Phillips, Bradley Cooper, and Emma Tillinger Koskoff
Little Women – Amy Pascal
Marriage Story – Noah Baumbach and David Heyman
1917 – Sam Mendes, Pippa Harris, Jayne-Ann Tenggren, and Callum McDougal
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – David Heyman, Shannon McIntosh, and Quentin Tarantino

Best Director:
Bong Joon-ho – Parasite (WINNER)
Martin Scorsese – The Irishman
Todd Phillips – Joker
Sam Mendes – 1917
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Actor:
Joaquin Phoenix – Joker as Arthur Fleck / Joker (WINNER)
Antonio Banderas – Pain and Glory as Salvador Mallo
Leonardo DiCaprio – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood as Rick Dalton
Adam Driver – Marriage Story as Charlie Barber
Jonathan Pryce – The Two Popes as Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio

Best Actress:
Renée Zellweger – Judy as Judy Garland (WINNER)
Cynthia Erivo – Harriet as Harriet Tubman
Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story as Nicole Barber
Saoirse Ronan – Little Women as Josephine “Jo” March
Charlize Theron – Bombshell as Megyn Kelly

Best Supporting Actor:
Brad Pitt – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood as Cliff Booth (WINNER)
Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood as Fred Rogers
Anthony Hopkins – The Two Popes as Pope Benedict XVI
Al Pacino – The Irishman as Jimmy Hoffa
Joe Pesci – The Irishman as Russell Bufalino

Best Supporting Actress:
Laura Dern – Marriage Story as Nora Fanshaw (WINNER)
Kathy Bates – Richard Jewell as Barbara “Bobi” Jewell
Scarlett Johansson – Jojo Rabbit as Rosie Betzler
Florence Pugh – Little Women as Amy March
Margot Robbie – Bombshell as Kayla Pospisil

Best Original Screenplay:
Parasite – Bong Joon-ho and Han Jin-won (WINNER)
Knives Out – Rian Johnson
Marriage Story – Noah Baumbach
1917 – Sam Mendes and Krysty Wilson-Cairns
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Quentin Tarantino

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Jojo Rabbit – Taika Waititi based on the novel Caging Skies by Christine Leunens (WINNER)
The Irishman – Steven Zaillian based on the book I Heard You Paint Houses by Charles Brandt
Joker – Todd Phillips and Scott Silver based on characters created by Bill Finger, Bob Kane, and Jerry Robinson
Little Women – Greta Gerwig based on the novel by Louisa May Alcott
The Two Popes – Anthony McCarten based on his play The Pope

Best Animated Feature Film:
Toy Story 4 – Josh Cooley, Jonas Rivera, and Mark Nielsen (WINNER)
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World – Dean DeBlois, Bonnie Arnold, and Brad Lewis
I Lost My Body – Jérémy Clapin and Marc du Pontavice
Klaus – Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh, and Marisa Román
Missing Link – Chris Butler, Arianne Sutner, and Travis Knight

Best International Feature Film:
Parasite (South Korea) in Korean – directed by Bong Joon-ho (WINNER)
Corpus Christi (Poland) in Polish – directed by Jan Komasa
Honeyland (North Macedonia) in Turkish and Macedonian – directed by Tamara Kotevska and Ljubomir Stefanov
Les Misérables (France) in French – directed by Ladj Ly
Pain and Glory (Spain) in Spanish – directed by Pedro Almodóvar

Best Documentary Feature:
American Factory – Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert and Jeff Reichert (WINNER)
The Cave – Feras Fayyad, Kirstine Barfod, and Sigrid Dyekjær
The Edge of Democracy – Petra Costa, Joanna Natasegara, Shane Boris, and Tiago Pavan
For Sama – Waad Al-Kateab and Edward Watts
Honeyland – Ljubomir Stefanov, Tamara Kotevska, and Atanas Georgiev

Best Documentary Short Subject:
Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl) – Carol Dysinger and Elena Andreicheva (WINNER)
In the Absence – Yi Seung-Jun and Gary Byung-Seok Kam
Life Overtakes Me – John Haptas and Kristine Samuelson
St. Louis Superman – Smriti Mundhra and Sami Khan
Walk Run Cha-Cha – Laura Nix and Colette Sandstedt

Best Live Action Short Film:
The Neighbors’ Window – Marshall Curry (WINNER)
Brotherhood – Meryam Joobeur and Maria Gracia Turgeon
Nefta Football Club – Yves Piat and Damien Megherbi
Saria – Bryan Buckley and Matt Lefebvre
A Sister – Delphine Girard

Best Animated Short Film:
Hair Love – Matthew A. Cherry and Karen Rupert Toliver (WINNER)
Dcera (Daughter) – Daria Kashcheeva
Kitbull – Rosana Sullivan and Kathryn Hendrickson
Memorable – Bruno Collet and Jean-François Le Corre
Sister – Siqi Song

Best Original Score:
Joker – Hildur Guðnadóttir (WINNER)
Little Women – Alexandre Desplat
Marriage Story – Randy Newman
1917 – Thomas Newman
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – John Williams

Best Original Song:
“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” from Rocketman – Music by Elton John; Lyrics by Bernie Taupin (WINNER)
“I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away” from Toy Story 4 – Music and Lyrics by Randy Newman
“I’m Standing with You” from Breakthrough – Music and Lyrics by Diane Warren
“Into the Unknown” from Frozen II – Music and Lyrics by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
“Stand Up” from Harriet – Music and Lyrics by Joshuah Brian Campbell and Cynthia Erivo

Best Sound Editing:
Ford v Ferrari – Donald Sylvester (WINNER)
Joker – Alan Robert Murray
1917 – Oliver Tarney and Rachael Tate
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Wylie Stateman
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – Matthew Wood and David Acord

Best Sound Mixing:
1917 – Mark Taylor and Stuart Wilson (WINNER)
Ad Astra – Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson and Mark Ulano
Ford v Ferrari – Paul Massey, David Giammarco, and Steven A. Morrow
Joker – Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic and Tod Maitland
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Michael Minkler, Christian P. Minkler, and Mark Ulano

Best Production Design:
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Production Design: Barbara Ling; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh (WINNER)
The Irishman – Production Design: Bob Shaw; Set Decoration: Regina Graves
Jojo Rabbit – Production Design: Ra Vincent; Set Decoration: Nora Sopková
1917 – Production Design: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Lee Sandales
Parasite – Production Design: Lee Ha-jun; Set Decoration: Cho Won-woo

Best Cinematography:
1917 – Roger Deakins (WINNER)
The Irishman – Rodrigo Prieto
Joker – Lawrence Sher
The Lighthouse – Jarin Blaschke
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Robert Richardson

Best Makeup and Hairstyling:
Bombshell – Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan, and Vivian Baker (WINNER)
Joker – Nicki Ledermann and Kay Georgiou
Judy – Jeremy Woodhead
Maleficent: Mistress of Evil – Paul Gooch, Arjen Tuiten, and David White
1917 – Naomi Donne, Tristan Versluis, and Rebecca Cole

Best Costume Design:
Little Women – Jacqueline Durran (WINNER)
The Irishman – Sandy Powell and Christopher Peterson
Jojo Rabbit – Mayes C. Rubeo
Joker – Mark Bridges
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Arianne Phillips

Best Film Editing:
Ford v Ferrari – Andrew Buckland and Michael McCusker (WINNER)
The Irishman – Thelma Schoonmaker
Jojo Rabbit – Tom Eagles
Joker – Jeff Groth
Parasite – Yang Jin-mo

Best Visual Effects:
1917 – Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler, and Dominic Tuohy (WINNER)
Avengers: Endgame – Dan DeLeeuw, Matt Aitken, Russell Earl, and Dan Sudick
The Irishman – Pablo Helman, Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli, and Nelson Sepulveda
The Lion King – Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones, and Elliot Newman
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – Roger Guyett, Neal Scanlan, Patrick Tubach, and Dominic Tuohy

Academy Honorary Awards:
David Lynch
Wes Studi
Lina Wertmüller

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award:
Geena Davis