2017 Oscars 89th Academy Awards

2017 Oscars 89th Academy Awards

Winners Announced: February 22, 2017
Held at: Dolby Theatre, Hollywood, Los Angeles, California, U.S.
Host: Jimmy Kimmel
Eligibility Year: 2016

2017 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Best Picture:
Moonlight – Adele Romanski, Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner (WINNER)
Arrival – Shawn Levy, Dan Levine, Aaron Ryder and David Linde
Fences – Scott Rudin, Denzel Washington and Todd Black
Hacksaw Ridge – Bill Mechanic and David Permut
Hell or High Water – Carla Hacken and Julie Yorn
Hidden Figures – Donna Gigliotti, Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping, Pharrell Williams and Theodore Melfi
La La Land – Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz and Marc Platt
Lion – Emile Sherman, Iain Canning and Angie Fielder
Manchester by the Sea – Matt Damon, Kimberly Steward, Chris Moore, Lauren Beck and Kevin J. Walsh

Best Director:
Damien Chazelle – La La Land (WINNER)
Denis Villeneuve – Arrival
Mel Gibson – Hacksaw Ridge
Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea
Barry Jenkins – Moonlight

Best Actor:
Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea as Lee Chandler (WINNER)
Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge as Desmond Doss
Ryan Gosling – La La Land as Sebastian Wilder
Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic as Ben Cash
Denzel Washington – Fences as Troy Maxson

Best Actress:
Emma Stone – La La Land as Mia Dolan (WINNER)
Isabelle Huppert – Elle as Michèle Leblanc
Ruth Negga – Loving as Mildred Loving
Natalie Portman – Jackie as Jacqueline “Jackie” Kennedy
Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins as Florence Foster Jenkins

Best Supporting Actor:
Mahershala Ali – Moonlight as Juan (WINNER)
Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water as Marcus Hamilton
Lucas Hedges – Manchester by the Sea as Patrick Chandler
Dev Patel – Lion as Saroo Brierley
Michael Shannon – Nocturnal Animals as Detective Bobby Andes

Best Supporting Actress:
Viola Davis – Fences as Rose Maxson (WINNER)
Naomie Harris – Moonlight as Paula
Nicole Kidman – Lion as Sue Brierley
Octavia Spencer – Hidden Figures as Dorothy Vaughan
Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea as Randi Chandler

Best Original Screenplay:
Manchester by the Sea – Kenneth Lonergan (WINNER)
20th Century Women – Mike Mills
Hell or High Water – Taylor Sheridan
La La Land – Damien Chazelle
The Lobster – Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Moonlight – Barry Jenkins; Story by Tarell Alvin McCraney based on the play In Moonlight Black Boys Look Blue by Tarell Alvin McCraney (WINNER)
Arrival – Eric Heisserer based on the story “Story of Your Life” written by Ted Chiang
Fences – August Wilson (posthumous nomination) based on his play
Hidden Figures – Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi based on the book by Margot Lee Shetterly
Lion – Luke Davies adapted from the book A Long Way Home by Saroo Brierley

Best Animated Feature Film:
Zootopia – Byron Howard, Rich Moore and Clark Spencer (WINNER)
Kubo and the Two Strings – Travis Knight and Arianne Sutner
Moana – John Musker, Ron Clements and Osnat Shurer
My Life as a Zucchini – Claude Barras and Max Karli
The Red Turtle – Michaël Dudok de Wit and Toshio Suzuki

Best Foreign Language Film:
The Salesman (Iran) in Persian – Directed by Asghar Farhadi (WINNER)
Land of Mine (Denmark) in Danish – Directed by Martin Zandvliet
A Man Called Ove (Sweden) in Swedish – Directed by Hannes Holm
Tanna (Australia) in Nauvhal – Directed by Martin Butler and Bentley Dean
Toni Erdmann (Germany) in German – Directed by Maren Ade

Best Documentary – Feature:
O.J.: Made in America – Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow (WINNER)
13th – Ava DuVernay, Spencer Averick and Howard Barish
Fire at Sea – Gianfranco Rosi and Donatella Palermo
I Am Not Your Negro – Raoul Peck, Rémi Grellety and Hébert Peck
Life, Animated – Roger Ross Williams and Julie Goldman

Best Documentary – Short Subject:
The White Helmets – Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara (WINNER)
4.1 Miles – Daphne Matziaraki
Extremis – Dan Krauss
Joe’s Violin – Kahane Cooperman and Raphaela Neihausen
Watani: My Homeland – Marcel Mettelsiefen and Stephen Ellis

Best Live Action Short Film:
Sing – Kristóf Deák and Anna Udvardy (WINNER)
Ennemis intérieurs – Sélim Azzazi
La femme et le TGV – Timo von Gunten and Giacun Caduff
Silent Nights – Aske Bang and Kim Magnusson
Timecode – Juanjo Giménez

Best Animated Short Film:
Piper – Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer (WINNER)
Blind Vaysha – Theodore Ushev
Borrowed Time – Andrew Coats and Lou Hamou-Lhadj
Pear Cider and Cigarettes – Robert Valley and Cara Speller
Pearl – Patrick Osborne

Best Original Score:
La La Land – Justin Hurwitz (WINNER)
Jackie – Mica Levi
Lion – Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka
Moonlight – Nicholas Britell
Passengers – Thomas Newman

Best Original Song:
“City of Stars” from La La Land – Music by Justin Hurwitz; Lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (WINNER)
“Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” from La La Land – Music by Justin Hurwitz; Lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul
“Can’t Stop the Feeling!” from Trolls – Music and Lyrics by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin and Karl Johan Schuster
“The Empty Chair” from Jim: The James Foley Story – Music and Lyrics by J. Ralph and Sting
“How Far I’ll Go” from Moana – Music and Lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda

Best Sound Editing:
Arrival – Sylvain Bellemare (WINNER)
Deepwater Horizon – Wylie Stateman and Renée Tondelli
Hacksaw Ridge – Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright
La La Land – Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan
Sully – Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman

Best Sound Mixing:
Hacksaw Ridge – Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace (WINNER)
13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi – Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers, Jeffrey J. Haboush and Mac Ruth
Arrival – Bernard Gariépy Strobl and Claude La Haye
La La Land – Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee and Steve A. Morrow
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson

Best Production Design:
La La Land – Production Design: David Wasco; Set Decoration: Sandy Reynolds-Wasco (WINNER)
Arrival – Production Design: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Paul Hotte
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Production Design: Stuart Craig; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock
Hail, Caesar! – Production Design: Jess Gonchor; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh
Passengers – Production Design: Guy Hendrix Dyas; Set Decoration: Gene Serdena

Best Cinematography:
La La Land – Linus Sandgren (WINNER)
Arrival – Bradford Young
Lion – Greig Fraser
Moonlight – James Laxton
Silence – Rodrigo Prieto

Best Makeup: and Hairstyling:

Suicide Squad – Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson (WINNER)
A Man Called Ove – Eva von Bahr and Love Larson
Star Trek Beyond – Joel Harlow and Richard Alonzo

Best Costume Design:
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Colleen Atwood (WINNER)
Allied – Joanna Johnston
Florence Foster Jenkins – Consolata Boyle
Jackie – Madeline Fontaine
La La Land – Mary Zophres

Best Film Editing:
Hacksaw Ridge – John Gilbert (WINNER)
Arrival – Joe Walker
Hell or High Water – Jake Roberts
La La Land – Tom Cross
Moonlight – Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon

Best Visual Effects:
The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Dan Lemmon (WINNER)
Deepwater Horizon – Craig Hammack, Jason Snell, Jason Billington and Burt Dalton
Doctor Strange – Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli and Paul Corbould
Kubo and the Two Strings – Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean and Brad Schiff
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel and Neil Corbould

Academy Honorary Awards:
Jackie Chan
Anne V. Coates
Lynn Stalmaster
Frederick Wiseman