2016 Oscars 88th Academy Awards

2016 Oscars 88th Academy Awards

Winners Announced: February 28, 2016
Held at: Dolby Theatre, Hollywood, Los Angeles, California, U.S.
Host: Chris Rock
Eligibility Year: 2015

2016 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Best Picture:
Spotlight – Michael Sugar, Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin and Blye Pagon Faust (WINNER)
The Big Short – Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner
Bridge of Spies – Steven Spielberg, Marc Platt and Kristie Macosko Krieger
Brooklyn – Finola Dwyer and Amanda Posey
Mad Max: Fury Road – Doug Mitchell and George Miller
The Martian – Simon Kinberg, Ridley Scott, Michael Schaefer and Mark Huffam
The Revenant – Arnon Milchan, Steve Golin, Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Mary Parent and Keith Redmon
Room – Ed Guiney
Best Director:
Alejandro G. Iñárritu – The Revenant (WINNER)
Adam McKay – The Big Short
George Miller – Mad Max: Fury Road
Lenny Abrahamson – Room
Tom McCarthy – Spotlight
Best Actor:
Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant as Hugh Glass (WINNER)
Bryan Cranston – Trumbo as Dalton Trumbo
Matt Damon – The Martian as Mark Watney
Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs as Steve Jobs
Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl as Lili Elbe
Best Actress:
Brie Larson – Room as Joy “Ma” Newsome (WINNER)
Cate Blanchett – Carol as Carol Aird
Jennifer Lawrence – Joy as Joy Mangano
Charlotte Rampling – 45 Years as Kate Mercer
Saoirse Ronan – Brooklyn as Eilis Lacey
Best Supporting Actor:
Mark Rylance – Bridge of Spies as Rudolf Abel (WINNER)
Christian Bale – The Big Short as Michael Burry
Tom Hardy – The Revenant as John Fitzgerald
Mark Ruffalo – Spotlight as Michael Rezendes
Sylvester Stallone – Creed as Rocky Balboa
Best Supporting Actress:
Alicia Vikander – The Danish Girl as Gerda Wegener (WINNER)
Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight as Daisy Domergue
Rooney Mara – Carol as Therese Belivet
Rachel McAdams – Spotlight as Sacha Pfeiffer
Kate Winslet – Steve Jobs as Joanna Hoffman
Best Original Screenplay:
Spotlight – Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer (WINNER)
Bridge of Spies – Matt Charman and Ethan Coen & Joel Coen
Ex Machina – Alex Garland
Inside Out – Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve and Josh Cooley; Original story by Pete Docter and Ronnie del Carmen
Straight Outta Compton – Jonathan Herman and Andrea Berloff; Story by S. Leigh Savidge, Alan Wenkus and Andrea Berloff
Best Adapted Screenplay:
The Big Short – Adam McKay and Charles Randolph based on the book by Michael Lewis (WINNER)
Brooklyn – Nick Hornby based on the novel by Colm Tóibín
Carol – Phyllis Nagy based on the novel The Price of Salt by Patricia Highsmith
The Martian – Drew Goddard based on the novel by Andy Weir
Room – Emma Donoghue based on her novel
Best Animated Feature Film:
Inside Out – Pete Docter and Jonas Rivera (WINNER)
Anomalisa – Charlie Kaufman, Duke Johnson and Rosa Tran
Boy and the World – Alê Abreu
Shaun the Sheep Movie – Mark Burton and Richard Starzak
When Marnie Was There – Hiromasa Yonebayashi and Yoshiaki Nishimura
Best Foreign Language Film:
Son of Saul (Hungary) in Hungarian – Directed by László Nemes (WINNER)
Embrace of the Serpent (Colombia) in Spanish – Directed by Ciro Guerra
Mustang (France) in Turkish – Directed by Deniz Gamze Ergüven
Theeb (Jordan) in Arabic – Directed by Naji Abu Nowar
A War (Denmark) in Danish – Directed by Tobias Lindholm
Best Documentary – Feature:
Amy – Asif Kapadia and James Gay-Rees (WINNER)
Cartel Land – Matthew Heineman and Tom Yellin
The Look of Silence – Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen
What Happened, Miss Simone? – Liz Garbus, Amy Hobby and Justin Wilkes
Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom – Evgeny Afineevsky and Den Tolmor
Best Documentary – Short Subject:
A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness – Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy (WINNER)
Body Team 12 – David Darg and Bryn Mooser
Chau, Beyond the Lines – Courtney Marsh and Jerry Franck
Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah – Adam Benzine
Last Day of Freedom – Dee Hibbert-Jones and Nomi Talisman
Best Live Action Short Film:
Stutterer – Benjamin Cleary and Serena Armitage (WINNER)
Ave Maria – Eric Dupont and Basil Khalil
Day One – Henry Hughes
Everything Will Be Okay – Patrick Vollrath
Shok – Jamie Donoughue
Best Animated Short Film:
Bear Story – Pato Escala and Gabriel Osorio (WINNER)
Prologue – Imogen Sutton and Richard Williams
Sanjay’s Super Team – Nicole Grindle and Sanjay Patel
We Can’t Live Without Cosmos – Konstantin Bronzit
World of Tomorrow – Don Hertzfeldt
Best Original Score:
The Hateful Eight – Ennio Morricone (WINNER)
Bridge of Spies – Thomas Newman
Carol – Carter Burwell
Sicario – Jóhann Jóhannsson
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – John Williams
Best Original Song:
“Writing’s on the Wall” from Spectre – Music and Lyrics by Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith (WINNER)
“Earned It” from Fifty Shades of Grey – Music and Lyrics by Ahmad Balshe, Stephan Moccio, Jason “Daheala” Quenneville and Abel Tesfaye
“Manta Ray” from Racing Extinction – Music by J. Ralph; Lyrics by Anohni
“Simple Song #3” from Youth – Music and Lyrics by David Lang
“Til It Happens to You” from The Hunting Ground – Music and Lyrics by Lady Gaga and Diane Warren
Best Sound Editing:
Mad Max: Fury Road – Mark A. Mangini and David White (WINNER)
The Martian – Oliver Tarney
The Revenant – Martin Hernández and Lon Bender
Sicario – Alan Robert Murray
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Matthew Wood and David Acord
Best Sound Mixing:
Mad Max: Fury Road – Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff and Ben Osmo (WINNER)
Bridge of Spies – Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom and Drew Kunin
The Martian – Paul Massey, Mark Taylor and Mac Ruth
The Revenant – Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, Randy Thom and Chris Duesterdiek
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson
Best Production Design:
Mad Max: Fury Road – Production Design: Colin Gibson; Set Decoration: Lisa Thompson (WINNER)
Bridge of Spies – Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Rena DeAngelo and Bernhard Henrich
The Danish Girl – Production Design: Eve Stewart; Set Decoration: Michael Standish
The Martian – Production Design: Arthur Max; Set Decoration: Celia Bobak
The Revenant – Production Design: Jack Fisk; Set Decoration: Hamish Purdy
Best Cinematography:
The Revenant – Emmanuel Lubezki (WINNER)
Carol – Edward Lachman
The Hateful Eight – Robert Richardson
Mad Max: Fury Road – John Seale
Sicario – Roger Deakins

Best Makeup: and Hairstyling:

Mad Max: Fury Road – Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega and Damian Martin (WINNER)
The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared – Love Larson and Eva von Bahr
The Revenant – Siân Grigg, Duncan Jarman and Robert Pandini
Best Costume Design:
Mad Max: Fury Road – Jenny Beavan (WINNER)
Carol – Sandy Powell
Cinderella – Sandy Powell
The Danish Girl – Paco Delgado
The Revenant – Jacqueline West
Best Film Editing:
Mad Max: Fury Road – Margaret Sixel (WINNER)
The Big Short – Hank Corwin
The Revenant – Stephen Mirrione
Spotlight – Tom McArdle
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey
Best Visual Effects:
Ex Machina – Mark Ardington, Sara Bennett, Paul Norris and Andrew Whitehurst (WINNER)
Mad Max: Fury Road – Andrew Jackson, Dan Oliver, Andy Williams and Tom Wood
The Martian – Anders Langlands, Chris Lawrence, Richard Stammers and Steven Warner
The Revenant – Rich McBride, Matt Shumway, Jason Smith and Cameron Waldbauer
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Chris Corbould, Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach and Neal Scanlan
Academy Honorary Awards:
Spike Lee
Gena Rowlands
Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award:
Debbie Reynolds