2013 Oscars 85th Academy Awards

2013 Oscars 85th Academy Awards

Winners Announced: February 24, 2013
Held at: Dolby Theatre, Hollywood, Los Angeles, California
Host: Seth MacFarlane
Eligibility Year: 2012

2013 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Best Picture:
Argo – Grant Heslov, Ben Affleck and George Clooney, producers (WINNER)
Amour – Margaret Ménégoz, Stefan Arndt, Veit Heiduschka and Michael Katz, producers
Beasts of the Southern Wild – Dan Janvey, Josh Penn and Michael Gottwald, producers
Django Unchained – Stacey Sher, Reginald Hudlin and Pilar Savone, producers
Les Misérables – Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Debra Hayward and Cameron Mackintosh, producers
Life of Pi – Gil Netter, Ang Lee and David Womark, producers
Lincoln – Steven Spielberg and Kathleen Kennedy, producers
Silver Linings Playbook – Donna Gigliotti, Bruce Cohen and Jonathan Gordon, producers
Zero Dark Thirty – Mark Boal, Kathryn Bigelow and Megan Ellison, producers

Best Director:
Ang Lee – Life of Pi (WINNER)
Michael Haneke – Amour
Benh Zeitlin – Beasts of the Southern Wild
Steven Spielberg – Lincoln
David O. Russell – Silver Linings Playbook

Best Actor:
Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln as Abraham Lincoln (WINNER)
Bradley Cooper – Silver Linings Playbook as Patrizio “Pat” Solitano Jr.
Hugh Jackman – Les Misérables as Jean Valjean
Joaquin Phoenix – The Master as Freddie Quell
Denzel Washington – Flight as William “Whip” Whitaker Sr.

Best Actress:
Jennifer Lawrence – Silver Linings Playbook as Tiffany Maxwell (WINNER)
Jessica Chastain – Zero Dark Thirty as Maya
Emmanuelle Riva – Amour as Anne Laurent
Quvenzhané Wallis – Beasts of the Southern Wild as Hushpuppy
Naomi Watts – The Impossible as Maria Bennett

Best Supporting Actor:
Christoph Waltz – Django Unchained as Dr. King Schultz (WINNER)
Alan Arkin – Argo as Lester Siegel
Robert De Niro – Silver Linings Playbook as Patrizio “Pat” Solitano Sr.
Philip Seymour Hoffman – The Master as Lancaster Dodd
Tommy Lee Jones – Lincoln as Thaddeus Stevens

Best Supporting Actress:
Anne Hathaway – Les Misérables as Fantine (WINNER)
Amy Adams – The Master as Peggy Dodd
Sally Field – Lincoln as Mary Todd Lincoln
Helen Hunt – The Sessions as Cheryl Cohen-Greene
Jacki Weaver – Silver Linings Playbook as Dolores Solitano

Best Original Screenplay:
Django Unchained – Quentin Tarantino (WINNER)
Amour – Michael Haneke
Flight – John Gatins
Moonrise Kingdom – Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola
Zero Dark Thirty – Mark Boal

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Argo – Chris Terrio based on a selection from The Master of Disguise by Antonio J. Mendez and the Wired magazine article The Great Escape by Joshuah Bearman (WINNER)
Beasts of the Southern Wild – Lucy Alibar and Benh Zeitlin based on the play Juicy and Delicious by Lucy Alibar
Life of Pi – David Magee based on the novel by Yann Martel
Lincoln – Tony Kushner based in part on the book Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin
Silver Linings Playbook – David O. Russell based on the novel by Matthew Quick

Best Animated Feature Film:
Brave – Directed by Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman (WINNER)
Frankenweenie – Directed by Tim Burton
ParaNorman – Directed by Sam Fell and Chris Butler
The Pirates! Band of Misfits – Directed by Peter Lord
Wreck-It Ralph – Directed by Rich Moore

Best Foreign Language Film:
Amour (Austria) in French – Directed by Michael Haneke (WINNER)
Kon-Tiki (Norway) in English and Norwegian – Directed by Joachim Rønning and Espen Sandberg
No (Chile) in Spanish – Directed by Pablo Larraín
A Royal Affair (Denmark) in Danish – Directed by Nikolaj Arcel
War Witch (Canada) in French – Directed by Kim Nguyen

Best Documentary – Feature:
Searching for Sugar Man – Malik Bendjelloul and Simon Chinn (WINNER)
5 Broken Cameras – Emad Burnat and Guy Davidi
The Gatekeepers – Dror Moreh, Philippa Kowarsky and Estelle Fialon
How to Survive a Plague – David France and Howard Gertler
The Invisible War – Kirby Dick and Amy Ziering

Best Documentary – Short Subject:
Inocente – Sean Fine and Andrea Nix Fine (WINNER)
Kings Point – Sari Gilman and Jedd Wider
Mondays at Racine – Cynthia Wade and Robin Honan
Open Heart – Kief Davidson and Cori Shepherd Stern
Redemption – Jon Alpert and Matthew O’Neill

Best Live Action Short Film:
Curfew – Shawn Christensen (WINNER)
Asad – Bryan Buckley and Mino Jarjoura
Buzkashi Boys – Sam French and Ariel Nasr
Death of a Shadow (Dood Van Een Schaduw) – Tom Van Avermaet and Ellen De Waele
Henry – Yan England

Best Animated Short Film:
Paperman – John Kahrs (WINNER)
Adam and Dog – Minkyu Lee
Fresh Guacamole – PES
Head over Heels – Timothy Reckart and Fodhla Cronin O’Reilly
The Longest Daycare – David Silverman

Best Original Score:
Life of Pi – Mychael Danna (WINNER)
Anna Karenina – Dario Marianelli
Argo – Alexandre Desplat
Lincoln – John Williams
Skyfall – Thomas Newman

Best Original Song:
“Skyfall” from Skyfall – Music and Lyrics by Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth (WINNER)
“Before My Time” from Chasing Ice – Music and Lyrics by J. Ralph
“Everybody Needs a Best Friend” from Ted – Music by Walter Murphy; Lyrics by Seth MacFarlane
“Pi’s Lullaby” from Life of Pi – Music by Mychael Danna; Lyrics by Bombay Jayashri
“Suddenly” from Les Misérables – Music by Claude-Michel Schönberg; Lyrics by Herbert Kretzmer and Alain Boublil

Best Sound Editing:
Skyfall – Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers (WINNER)
Zero Dark Thirty – Paul N. J. Ottosson (WINNER)
Argo – Erik Aadahl and Ethan Van der Ryn
Django Unchained – Wylie Stateman
Life of Pi – Eugene Gearty and Philip Stockton

Best Sound Mixing:
Les Misérables – Andy Nelson, Mark Paterson and Simon Hayes (WINNER)
Argo – John T. Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and José Antonio Garcia
Life of Pi – Ron Bartlett, Doug Hemphill and Drew Kunin
Lincoln – Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom and Ron Judkins
Skyfall – Scott Millan, Greg P. Russell and Stuart Wilson

Best Production Design:
Lincoln – Production Design: Rick Carter; Set Decoration: Jim Erickson (WINNER)
Anna Karenina – Production Design: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Production Design: Dan Hennah; Set Decoration: Ra Vincent and Simon Bright
Les Misérables – Production Design: Eve Stewart; Set Decoration: Anna Lynch-Robinson
Life of Pi – Production Design: David Gropman; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock

Best Cinematography:
Life of Pi – Claudio Miranda (WINNER)
Anna Karenina – Seamus McGarvey
Django Unchained – Robert Richardson
Lincoln – Janusz Kaminski
Skyfall – Roger Deakins

Best Makeup: and Hairstyling:

Les Misérables – Lisa Westcott and Julie Dartnell (WINNER)
Hitchcock – Howard Berger, Peter Montagna, and Martin Samuel
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Peter Swords King, Rick Findlater, and Tami Lane

Best Costume Design:
Anna Karenina – Jacqueline Durran (WINNER)
Les Misérables – Paco Delgado
Lincoln – Joanna Johnston
Mirror Mirror – Eiko Ishioka (posthumous nomination)
Snow White and the Huntsman – Colleen Atwood

Best Film Editing:
Argo – William Goldenberg (WINNER)
Life of Pi – Tim Squyres
Lincoln – Michael Kahn
Silver Linings Playbook – Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers
Zero Dark Thirty – Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg

Best Visual Effects:
Life of Pi – Bill Westenhofer, Guillaume Rocheron, Erik-Jan de Boer and Donald R. Elliott (WINNER)
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and R. Christopher White
Marvel’s The Avengers – Janek Sirrs, Jeff White, Guy Williams and Dan Sudick
Prometheus – Richard Stammers, Trevor Wood, Charley Henley and Martin Hill
Snow White and the Huntsman – Cedric Nicolas-Troyan, Philip Brennan, Neil Corbould and Michael Dawson

Academy Honorary Awards:
Hal Needham
D. A. Pennebaker
George Stevens Jr.

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award:
Jeffrey Katzenberg