2011 Oscars 83rd Academy Awards

2011 Oscars 83rd Academy Awards

Winners Announced: February 27, 2011
Held at: Kodak Theatre, Los Angeles, California
Hosts: James Franco and Anne Hathaway
Eligibility Year: 201

“Roxy Sorkin, your father just won the Academy Award. I’m going to have to insist on some respect from your guinea pig.”
– Aaron Sorkin, to his daughter, Best Adapted Screenplay, The Social Network

2011 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Best Picture:
The King’s Speech – Iain Canning, Emile Sherman and Gareth Unwin, producers (WINNER)
127 Hours – Christian Colson, Danny Boyle and John Smithson, producers
Black Swan – Mike Medavoy, Brian Oliver and Scott Franklin, producers
The Fighter – David Hoberman, Todd Lieberman and Mark Wahlberg, producers
Inception – Emma Thomas and Christopher Nolan, producers
The Kids Are All Right – Gary Gilbert, Jeffrey Levy-Hinte and Celine Rattray, producers
The Social Network – Scott Rudin, Dana Brunetti, Michael De Luca and Ceán Chaffin, producers
Toy Story 3 – Darla K. Anderson, producer
True Grit – Scott Rudin, Ethan Coen and Joel Coen, producers
Winter’s Bone – Anne Rosellini and Alix Madigan-Yorkin, producers

Best Director:
Tom Hooper – The King’s Speech (WINNER)
Darren Aronofsky – Black Swan
David O. Russell – The Fighter
David Fincher – The Social Network
Joel Coen and Ethan Coen – True Grit

Best Actor:
Colin Firth – The King’s Speech as King George VI (WINNER)
Javier Bardem – Biutiful as Uxbal
Jeff Bridges – True Grit as Deputy U.S. Marshal Rooster Cogburn
Jesse Eisenberg – The Social Network as Mark Zuckerberg
James Franco – 127 Hours as Aron Ralston

Best Actress:
Natalie Portman – Black Swan as Nina Sayers (WINNER)
Annette Bening – The Kids Are All Right as Dr. Nicole “Nic” Allgood
Nicole Kidman – Rabbit Hole as Becca Corbett
Jennifer Lawrence – Winter’s Bone as Ree Dolly
Michelle Williams – Blue Valentine as Cynthia “Cindy” Heller

Best Supporting Actor:
Christian Bale – The Fighter as Dicky Eklund (WINNER)
John Hawkes – Winter’s Bone as Teardrop Dolly
Jeremy Renner – The Town as James “Jem” Coughlin
Mark Ruffalo – The Kids Are All Right as Paul Hatfield
Geoffrey Rush – The King’s Speech as Lionel Logue

Best Supporting Actress:
Melissa Leo – The Fighter as Alice Eklund-Ward (WINNER)
Amy Adams – The Fighter as Charlene Fleming
Helena Bonham Carter – The King’s Speech as Queen Elizabeth
Hailee Steinfeld – True Grit as Mattalyn “Mattie” Ross
Jacki Weaver – Animal Kingdom as Janine “Smurf” Cody

Best Original Screenplay:
The King’s Speech – David Seidler (WINNER)
Another Year – Mike Leigh
The Fighter – Screenplay by Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy and Eric Johnson; Story by Keith Dorrington, Paul Tamasy and Eric Johnson
Inception – Christopher Nolan
The Kids Are All Right – Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg

Best Adapted Screenplay:
The Social Network – Aaron Sorkin based on the book The Accidental Billionaires by Ben Mezrich (WINNER)
127 Hours – Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy based on the book Between a Rock and a Hard Place by Aron Ralston
Toy Story 3 – Screenplay by Michael Arndt; Story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich based on the previous films Toy Story and Toy Story 2
True Grit – Joel Coen and Ethan Coen based on the novel by Charles Portis
Winter’s Bone – Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini based on the novel by Daniel Woodrell

Best Animated Feature Film:
Toy Story 3 – Directed by Lee Unkrich (WINNER)
How to Train Your Dragon – Directed by Chris Sanders and Dean DeBlois
The Illusionist – Directed by Sylvain Chomet

Best Foreign Language Film:
In a Better World (Denmark) in Danish – Susanne Bier (WINNER)
Biutiful (Mexico) in Spanish – Alejandro González Iñárritu
Dogtooth (Greece) in Greek – Yorgos Lanthimos
Incendies (Canada) in French – Denis Villeneuve
Outside the Law (Algeria) in Arabic – Rachid Bouchareb

Best Documentary Feature:
Inside Job – Charles H. Ferguson and Audrey Marrs (WINNER)
Exit Through the Gift Shop – Banksy and Jaimie D’Cruz
Gasland – Josh Fox and Trish Adlesic
Restrepo – Tim Hetherington and Sebastian Junger
Waste Land – Lucy Walker and Angus Aynsley

Best Documentary Short Subject:
Strangers No More – Karen Goodman and Kirk Simon (WINNER)
Killing in the Name – Jed Rothstein
Poster Girl – Sara Nesson and Mitchell W. Block
Sun Come Up – Jennifer Redfearn and Tim Metzger
The Warriors of Qiugang – Ruby Yang and Thomas Lennon

Best Live Action Short Film:
God of Love – Luke Matheny (WINNER)
The Confession – Tanel Toom
The Crush – Michael Creagh
Na Wewe – Ivan Goldschmidt
Wish 143 – Ian Barnes and Samantha Waite

Best Animated Short Film:
The Lost Thing – Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan (WINNER)
Day & Night – Teddy Newton
The Gruffalo – Max Lang and Jakob Schuh
Let’s Pollute – Geefwee Boedoe
Madagascar, a Journey Diary – Bastien Dubois

Best Original Score:
The Social Network – Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (WINNER)
127 Hours – A. R. Rahman
How to Train Your Dragon – John Powell
Inception – Hans Zimmer
The King’s Speech – Alexandre Desplat

Best Original Song:
“We Belong Together” from Toy Story 3 – Music and Lyrics by Randy Newman (WINNER)
“Coming Home” from Country Strong – Music and Lyrics by Tom Douglas, Hillary Lindsey and Troy Verges
“If I Rise” from 127 Hours – Music by A. R. Rahman; Lyrics by Rollo Armstrong and Dido
“I See the Light” from Tangled – Music by Alan Menken; Lyrics by Glenn Slater

Best Sound Editing:
Inception – Richard King (WINNER)
Toy Story 3 – Tom Myers and Michael Silvers
Tron: Legacy – Gwendolyn Yates Whittle and Addison Teague
True Grit – Skip Lievsay and Craig Berkey
Unstoppable – Mark Stoeckinger

Best Sound Mixing:
Inception – Lora Hirschberg, Gary Rizzo and Ed Novick (WINNER)
The King’s Speech – Paul Hamblin, Martin Jensen and John Midgley
Salt – Jeffrey J. Haboush, Greg P. Russell, Scott Millan and William Sarokin
The Social Network – Ren Klyce, David Parker, Michael Semanick and Mark Weingarten
True Grit – Skip Lievsay, Craig Berkey, Greg Orloff and Peter Kurland

Best Art Direction:
Alice in Wonderland – Art Direction: Robert Stromberg; Set Decoration: Karen O’Hara (WINNER)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1 – Art Direction: Stuart Craig; Set Decoration: Stephenie McMillan
Inception – Art Direction: Guy Hendrix Dyas; Set Decoration: Larry Dias and Doug Mowat
The King’s Speech – Art Direction: Eve Stewart; Set Decoration: Judy Farr
True Grit – Art Direction: Jess Gonchor; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh

Best Cinematography:
Inception – Wally Pfister (WINNER)
Black Swan – Matthew Libatique
The King’s Speech – Danny Cohen
The Social Network – Jeff Cronenweth
True Grit – Roger Deakins

Best Makeup:
The Wolfman – Rick Baker and Dave Elsey (WINNER)
Barney’s Version – Adrien Morot
The Way Back – Edouard F. Henriques, Gregory Funk and Yolanda Toussieng

Best Costume Design:
Alice in Wonderland – Colleen Atwood (WINNER)
I Am Love – Antonella Cannarozzi
The King’s Speech – Jenny Beavan
The Tempest – Sandy Powell
True Grit – Mary Zophres

Best Film Editing:
The Social Network – Angus Wall and Kirk Baxter (WINNER)
127 Hours – Jon Harris
Black Swan – Andrew Weisblum
The Fighter – Pamela Martin
The King’s Speech – Tariq Anwar

Best Visual Effects:
Inception – Paul Franklin, Chris Corbould, Andrew Lockley and Peter Bebb (WINNER)
Alice in Wonderland – Ken Ralston, David Schaub, Carey Villegas and Sean Phillips
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1 – Tim Burke, John Richardson, Christian Manz and Nicolas Aithadi
Hereafter – Michael Owens, Bryan Grill, Stephan Trojanski and Joe Farrell
Iron Man 2 – Janek Sirrs, Ben Snow, Ged Wright and Dan Sudick

Academy Honorary Awards:
Kevin Brownlow
Jean-Luc Godard
Eli Wallach

Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award:
Francis Ford Coppola