2006 Oscars 78th Academy Awards

2006 Oscars 78th Academy Awards

Winners Announced: March 5, 2006
Held at: Kodak Theatre, Hollywood, Los Angeles, California
Host: Jon Stewart
Eligibility Year: 2005
The date was pushed to after February because of the 2006 Winter Olympics in Turin, Italy.

2006 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Best Picture:
Crash – Paul Haggis and Cathy Schulman, producers (WINNER)
Brokeback Mountain – Diana Ossana and James Schamus, producers
Capote – Caroline Baron, William Vince and Michael Ohoven, producers
Good Night, and Good Luck – Grant Heslov, producer
Munich – Kathleen Kennedy, Steven Spielberg and Barry Mendel, producers

Best Director:
Ang Lee – Brokeback Mountain (WINNER)
Bennett Miller – Capote
Paul Haggis – Crash
George Clooney – Good Night, and Good Luck
Steven Spielberg – Munich

Best Actor:
Philip Seymour Hoffman – Capote as Truman Capote (WINNER)
Terrence Howard – Hustle & Flow as DJay
Heath Ledger – Brokeback Mountain as Ennis Del Mar
Joaquin Phoenix – Walk the Line as Johnny Cash
David Strathairn – Good Night, and Good Luck as Edward R. Murrow

Best Actress:
Reese Witherspoon – Walk the Line as June Carter Cash (WINNER)
Judi Dench – Mrs Henderson Presents as Laura Henderson
Felicity Huffman – Transamerica as Sabrina “Bree” Osbourne / Stanley Schupak
Keira Knightley – Pride & Prejudice as Elizabeth Bennet
Charlize Theron – North Country as Josey Aimes

Best Supporting Actor:
George Clooney – Syriana as Bob Barnes (WINNER)
Matt Dillon – Crash as Officer John Ryan
Paul Giamatti – Cinderella Man as Joe Gould
Jake Gyllenhaal – Brokeback Mountain as Jack Twist
William Hurt – A History of Violence as Richie Cusack

Best Supporting Actress:
Rachel Weisz – The Constant Gardener as Tessa Quayle (WINNER)
Amy Adams – Junebug as Ashley Johnsten
Catherine Keener – Capote as Nelle Harper Lee
Frances McDormand – North Country as Glory Dodge
Michelle Williams – Brokeback Mountain as Alma Beers Del Mar

Best Original Screenplay:
Crash – Paul Haggis and Robert Moresco (WINNER)
Good Night, and Good Luck – George Clooney and Grant Heslov
Match Point – Woody Allen
The Squid and the Whale – Noah Baumbach
Syriana – Stephen Gaghan

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Brokeback Mountain – Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana based on the short story by Annie Proulx (WINNER)
Capote – Dan Futterman based on the book by Gerald Clarke
The Constant Gardener – Jeffrey Caine based on the novel by John le Carré
A History of Violence – Josh Olson based on the graphic novel by John Wagner and Vince Locke
Munich – Tony Kushner and Eric Roth based on the book Vengeance: The True Story of an Israeli Counter-Terrorist Team by George Jonas

Best Animated Feature Film:
Wallace & Gromit – Nick Park and Steve Box (WINNER)
Howl’s Moving Castle – Hayao Miyazaki
Tim Burton’s Corpse Bride – Mike Johnson and Tim Burton

Best Foreign Language Film:
Tsotsi (South Africa) – Gavin Hood (WINNER)
The Beast in the Heart (Italy) – Cristina Comencini
Joyeux Noël (France) – Christian Carion
Paradise Now (The Palestinian Territories) – Hany Abu-Assad
Sophie Scholl – The Final Days (Germany) – Marc Rothemund

Best Documentary Feature:
March of the Penguins – Luc Jacquet and Yves Darondeau (WINNER)
Darwin’s Nightmare – Hubert Sauper
Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room – Alex Gibney and Jason Kliot
Murderball – Henry Alex Rubin and Dana Adam Shapiro
Street Fight – Marshall Curry

Best Documentary Short Subject:
A Note of Triumph: The Golden Age of Norman Corwin – Corinne Marrinan and Eric Simonson (WINNER)
The Death of Kevin Carter: Casualty of the Bang Bang Club – Dan Krauss
God Sleeps in Rwanda – Kimberlee Acquaro and Stacy Sherman
The Mushroom Club – Steven Okazaki

Best Live Action Short Film:
Six Shooter – Martin McDonagh (WINNER)
Cashback – Sean Ellis and Lene Bausager
The Last Farm – Rúnar Rúnarsson and Thor S. Sigurjónsson
Our Time Is Up – Rob Pearlstein and Pia Clemente
The Runaway (Ausreißer) – Ulrike Grote

Best Animated Short Film:
The Moon and the Son: An Imagined Conversation – John Canemaker and Peggy Stern (WINNER)
9 – Shane Acker
Badgered – Sharon Colman
The Mysterious Geographic Explorations of Jasper Morello – Anthony Lucas
One Man Band – Andrew Jimenez and Mark Andrews

Best Original Score:
Brokeback Mountain – Gustavo Santaolalla (WINNER)
The Constant Gardener – Alberto Iglesias
Memoirs of a Geisha – John Williams
Munich – John Williams
Pride & Prejudice – Dario Marianelli

Best Original Song:
“It’s Hard out Here for a Pimp” from Hustle & Flow – Music and Lyrics by Jordan Houston, Cedric Coleman and Paul Beauregard (WINNER)
“In the Deep” from Crash – Music by Kathleen “Bird” York and Michael Becker; Lyrics by Kathleen “Bird” York
“Travelin’ Thru” from Transamerica – Music and Lyrics by Dolly Parton

Best Sound Editing:
King Kong – Mike Hopkins and Ethan Van der Ryn (WINNER)
Memoirs of a Geisha – Wylie Stateman
War of the Worlds – Richard King

Best Sound Mixing:
King Kong – Christopher Boyes, Michael Semanick, Michael Hedges and Hammond Peek (WINNER)
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe – Terry Porter, Dean A. Zupancic and Tony Johnson
Memoirs of a Geisha – Kevin O’Connell, Greg P. Russell, Rick Kline and John Pritchett
Walk the Line – Paul Massey, D.M. Hemphill and Peter Kurland
War of the Worlds – Andy Nelson, Anna Behlmer and Ron Judkins

Best Art Direction:
Memoirs of a Geisha – Art Direction: John Myhre; Set Decoration: Gretchen Rau (WINNER)
Good Night, and Good Luck – Art Direction: Jim Bissell; Set Decoration: Jan Pascale
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – Art Direction: Stuart Craig; Set Decoration: Stephenie McMillan
King Kong – Art Direction: Grant Major; Set Decoration: Dan Hennah and Simon Bright
Pride & Prejudice – Art Direction: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer

Best Cinematography:
Memoirs of a Geisha – Dion Beebe (WINNER)
Batman Begins – Wally Pfister
Brokeback Mountain – Rodrigo Prieto
Good Night, and Good Luck – Robert Elswit
The New World – Emmanuel Lubezki

Best Makeup:
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe – Howard Berger and Tami Lane (WINNER)
Cinderella Man – David LeRoy Anderson and Lance Anderson
Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith – Dave Elsey and Nikki Gooley

Best Costume Design:
Memoirs of a Geisha – Colleen Atwood (WINNER)
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Gabriella Pescucci
Mrs Henderson Presents – Sandy Powell
Pride & Prejudice – Jacqueline Durran
Walk the Line – Arianne Phillips

Best Film Editing:
Crash – Hughes Winborne (WINNER)
Cinderella Man – Mike Hill and Dan Hanley
The Constant Gardener – Claire Simpson
Munich – Michael Kahn
Walk the Line – Michael McCusker

Best Visual Effects:
King Kong – Joe Letteri, Brian Van’t Hul, Christian Rivers and Richard Taylor (WINNER)
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe – Dean Wright, Bill Westenhofer, Jim Berney and Scott Farrar
War of the Worlds – Dennis Muren, Pablo Helman, Randal M. Dutra and Dan Sudick

Academy Honorary Award:

Robert Altman