2003 Oscars 75th Academy Awards

2003 Oscars 75th Academy Awards

Winners Announced: March 23, 2003
Held at: Kodak Theatre, Hollywood, California
Host: Steve Martin
Eligibility Year: 2002

2003 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Best Picture:
Chicago – Martin Richards, producer (WINNER)
Gangs of New York – Alberto Grimaldi and Harvey Weinstein, producers
The Hours – Scott Rudin and Robert Fox, producers
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers – Barrie M. Osborne, Fran Walsh, and Peter Jackson, producers
The Pianist – Roman Polanski, Robert Bunmussa, and Alain Sarde, producers

Best Director:
Roman Polanski – The Pianist (WINNER)
Rob Marshall – Chicago
Martin Scorsese – Gangs of New York
Stephen Daldry – The Hours
Pedro Almodóvar – Talk to Her

Best Actor:
Adrien Brody – The Pianist as Wladyslaw Szpilman (WINNER)
Nicolas Cage – Adaptation as Charlie Kaufman / Donald Kaufman
Michael Caine – The Quiet American as Thomas Fowler
Daniel Day-Lewis – Gangs of New York as Bill “The Butcher” Cutting
Jack Nicholson – About Schmidt as Warren R. Schmidt

Best Actress:
Nicole Kidman – The Hours as Virginia Woolf (WINNER)
Salma Hayek – Frida as Frida Kahlo
Diane Lane – Unfaithful as Constance “Connie” Sumner
Julianne Moore – Far from Heaven as Cathy Whitaker
Renée Zellweger – Chicago as Roxie Hart

Best Supporting Actor:
Chris Cooper – Adaptation as John Laroche (WINNER)
Ed Harris – The Hours as Richard “Richie” Brown
Paul Newman – Road to Perdition as John Rooney
John C. Reilly – Chicago as Amos Hart
Christopher Walken – Catch Me If You Can as Frank Abagnale Sr.

Best Supporting Actress:
Catherine Zeta-Jones – Chicago as Velma Kelly (WINNER)
Kathy Bates – About Schmidt as Roberta Hertzel
Queen Latifah – Chicago as Matron “Mama” Morton
Julianne Moore – The Hours as Laura McGrath Brown
Meryl Streep – Adaptation as Susan Orlean

Best Original Screenplay:
Talk to Her – Pedro Almodóvar (WINNER)
Far from Heaven – Todd Haynes
Gangs of New York – Jay Cocks, Steven Zaillian, and Kenneth Lonergan
My Big Fat Greek Wedding – Nia Vardalos
Y Tu Mamá También – Carlos Cuarón and Alfonso Cuarón

Best Adapted Screenplay:
The Pianist – Ronald Harwood based on the book by Wladyslaw Szpilman (WINNER)
About a Boy – Peter Hedges, Chris Weitz, and Paul Weitz based on the book by Nick Hornby
Adaptation – Charlie Kaufman and Donald Kaufman based on the book The Orchid Thief by Susan Orlean
Chicago – Bill Condon based on the play by Maurine Dallas Watkins
The Hours – David Hare based on the novel by Michael Cunningham

Best Animated Feature Film:
Spirited Away – Hayao Miyazaki (WINNER)
Ice Age – Chris Wedge
Lilo & Stitch – Chris Sanders
Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron – Jeffrey Katzenberg
Treasure Planet – Ron Clements

Best Foreign Language Film:
Nowhere in Africa (Germany) in German – Caroline Link (WINNER)
The Crime of Father Amaro (Mexico) in Spanish – Carlos Carrera
Hero (China) in Mandarin – Zhang Yimou
The Man Without a Past (Finland) in Finnish – Aki Kaurismäki
Zus & Zo (Netherlands) in Dutch – Paula van der Oest

Best Documentary Feature:
Bowling for Columbine – Michael Moore and Michael Donovan (WINNER)
Daughter from Danang – Gail Dolgin and Vicente Franco
Prisoner of Paradise – Malcolm Clarke and Stuart Sender
Spellbound – Jeffrey Blitz and Sean Welch
Winged Migration – Jacques Perrin

Best Documentary Short Subject:
Twin Towers – Bill Guttentag and Robert David Port (WINNER)
The Collector of Bedford Street – Alice Elliott
Mighty Times: The Legacy of Rosa Parks – Robert Hudson and Bobby Houston
Why Can’t We Be a Family Again? – Roger Weisberg and Murray Nossel

Best Live Action Short Film:
This Charming Man – Martin Strange-Hansen and Mie Andreasen (WINNER)
Fait D’Hiver – Dirk Beliën and Anja Daelemans
I’ll Wait for the Next One… (J’Attendrai Le Suivant…) – Philippe Orreindy and Thomas Gaudin
Inja (Dog) – Steven Pasvolsky and Joe Weatherstone
Johnny Flynton – Lexi Alexander and Alexander Buono

Best Animated Short Film:
The ChubbChubbs! – Eric Armstrong (WINNER)
Das Rad – Chris Stenner and Heidi Wittlinger
Katedra – Tomek Baginski
Mike’s New Car – Pete Docter and Roger L. Gould
Mount Head – Koji Yamamura

Best Original Score:
Frida – Elliot Goldenthal (WINNER)
Catch Me If You Can – John Williams
Far from Heaven – Elmer Bernstein
The Hours – Philip Glass
Road to Perdition – Thomas Newman

Best Original Song:
“Lose Yourself” from 8 Mile – Music by Eminem, Jeff Bass, and Luis Resto; Lyrics by Eminem (WINNER)
“I Move On” from Chicago – Music by John Kander; Lyrics by Fred Ebb
“Burn It Blue” from Frida – Music by Elliot Goldenthal; Lyrics by Julie Taymor
“The Hands That Built America” from Gangs of New York – Music and Lyrics by Bono, The Edge, Adam Clayton, and Larry Mullen
“Father and Daughter” from The Wild Thornberrys Movie – Music and Lyrics by Paul Simon

Best Sound Editing:
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers – Mike Hopkins and Ethan Van der Ryn (WINNER)
Minority Report – Richard Hymns and Gary Rydstrom
Road to Perdition – Scott Hecker

Best Sound:
Chicago – Michael Minkler, David Lee, and Dominick Tavella (WINNER)
Gangs of New York – Tom Fleischman, Eugene Gearty, and Ivan Sharrock
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers – Christopher Boyes, Michael Semanick, Michael Hedges, and Hammond Peek
Road to Perdition – Scott Millan, Bob Beemer, and John Patrick Pritchett
Spider-Man – Kevin O’Connell, Greg P. Russell, and Ed Novick

Best Art Direction:
Chicago – Art Direction: John Myhre; Set Decoration: Gordon Sim (WINNER)
Frida – Art Direction: Felipe Fernández del Paso; Set Decoration: Hania Robledo
Gangs of New York – Art Direction: Dante Ferretti; Set Decoration: Francesca Lo Schiavo
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers – Art Direction: Grant Major; Set Decoration: Dan Hennah and Alan Lee
Road to Perdition – Art Direction: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh

Best Cinematography:
Road to Perdition – Conrad Hall (posthumous award) (WINNER)
Chicago – Dion Beebe
Far from Heaven – Edward Lachman
Gangs of New York – Michael Ballhaus
The Pianist – Pawel Edelman

Best Makeup:
Frida – John E. Jackson and Beatrice De Alba (WINNER)
The Time Machine – John M. Elliott Jr. and Barbara Lorenz

Best Costume Design:
Chicago – Colleen Atwood (WINNER)
Frida – Julie Weiss
Gangs of New York – Sandy Powell
The Hours – Ann Roth
The Pianist – Anna B. Sheppard

Best Film Editing:
Chicago – Martin Walsh (WINNER)
Gangs of New York – Thelma Schoonmaker
The Hours – Peter Boyle
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers – Michael Horton
The Pianist – Hervé de Luze

Best Visual Effects:
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers – Jim Rygiel, Randall William Cook, Alex Funke, and Joe Letteri (WINNER)
Spider-Man – John Dykstra, Scott Stokdyk, Anthony LaMolinara, and John Frazier
Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones – Rob Coleman, Pablo Helman, John Knoll, and Ben Snow

Academy Honorary Award:
Peter O’Toole