2000 Oscars 72nd Academy Awards

2000 Oscars 72nd Academy Awards

Winners Announced: March 26, 2000
Held at: Los Angeles Shrine Auditorium, California
Host: Billy Crystal
Eligibility Year: 1999

2000 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Best Picture:
American Beauty – Bruce Cohen and Dan Jinks, producers (WINNER)
The Cider House Rules – Richard N. Gladstein, producer
The Green Mile – Frank Darabont and David Valdes, producers
The Insider – Pieter Jan Brugge and Michael Mann, producers
The Sixth Sense – Frank Marshall, Kathleen Kennedy, and Barry Mendel, producers

Best Director:
Sam Mendes – American Beauty (WINNER)
Spike Jonze – Being John Malkovich
Lasse Hallström – The Cider House Rules
Michael Mann – The Insider
M. Night Shyamalan – The Sixth Sense

Best Actor:
Kevin Spacey – American Beauty as Lester Burnham (WINNER)
Russell Crowe – The Insider as Jeffrey Wigand
Richard Farnsworth – The Straight Story as Alvin Straight
Sean Penn – Sweet and Lowdown as Emmet Ray
Denzel Washington – The Hurricane as Rubin Carter

Best Actress:
Hilary Swank – Boys Don’t Cry as Brandon Teena (WINNER)
Annette Bening – American Beauty as Carolyn Burnham
Janet McTeer – Tumbleweeds as Mary Jo Walker
Julianne Moore – The End of the Affair as Sarah Miles
Meryl Streep – Music of the Heart as Roberta Guaspari

Best Supporting Actor:
Michael Caine – The Cider House Rules as Dr. Wilbur Larch (WINNER)
Tom Cruise – Magnolia as Frank T.J. Mackey
Michael Clarke Duncan – The Green Mile as John Coffey
Jude Law – The Talented Mr. Ripley as Dickie Greenleaf
Haley Joel Osment – The Sixth Sense as Cole Sear

Best Supporting Actress:
Angelina Jolie – Girl, Interrupted as Lisa Rowe (WINNER)
Toni Collette – The Sixth Sense as Lynn Sear
Catherine Keener – Being John Malkovich as Maxine Lund
Samantha Morton – Sweet and Lowdown as Hattie
Chloë Sevigny – Boys Don’t Cry as Lana Tisdel

Best Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen:

American Beauty – Alan Ball (WINNER)
Being John Malkovich – Charlie Kaufman
Magnolia – Paul Thomas Anderson
The Sixth Sense – M. Night Shyamalan
Topsy-Turvy – Mike Leigh

Best Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or Published:

The Cider House Rules – John Irving based on his novel (WINNER)
Election – Alexander Payne and Jim Taylor from the novel by Tom Perrotta
The Green Mile – Frank Darabont adapted from the novel by Stephen King
The Insider – Eric Roth and Michael Mann based on the Vanity Fair article “The Man Who Knew Too Much” by Marie Brenner
The Talented Mr. Ripley – Anthony Minghella adapted from the novel by Patricia Highsmith

Best Foreign Language Film:
All About My Mother (Spain) in Spanish – Pedro Almodóvar (WINNER)
East/West (France) in French – Régis Wargnier
Himalaya (Nepal) in Nepalese – Éric Valli
Solomon & Gaenor (United Kingdom) in Welsh – Paul Morrison
Under the Sun (Sweden) in Swedish – Colin Nutley

Best Documentary Feature:
One Day in September – Arthur Cohn and Kevin Macdonald (WINNER)
Buena Vista Social Club – Wim Wenders and Ulrich Felsberg
Genghis Blues – Roko Belic and Adrian Belic
On the Ropes – Nanette Burstein and Brett Morgen
Speaking in Strings – Paola di Florio and Lilibet Foster

Best Documentary Short Subject:
King Gimp – Susan Hannah Hadary and William A. Whiteford (WINNER)
Eyewitness – Bert Van Bork
The Wildest Show in the South: The Angola Prison Rodeo – Simeon Soffer and Jonathan Stack

Best Live Action Short Film:
My Mother Dreams the Satan’s Disciples in New York – Barbara Schock and Tammy Tiehel (WINNER)
Bror, Min Bror – Henrik Ruben Genz and Michael W. Horsten
Killing Joe – Mehdi Norowzian and Steve Wax
Kleingeld – Marc-Andreas Bochert and Gabriele Lins
Major and Minor Miracles – Marcus Olsson

Best Animated Short Film:
The Old Man and the Sea – Alexander Petrov (WINNER)
3 Misses – Paul Driessen
Humdrum – Peter Peake
My Grandmother Ironed the King’s Shirts – Torill Kove
When the Day Breaks – Wendy Tilby and Amanda Forbis

Best Original Score:
The Red Violin – John Corigliano (WINNER)
American Beauty – Thomas Newman
Angela’s Ashes – John Williams
The Cider House Rules – Rachel Portman
The Talented Mr. Ripley – Gabriel Yared

Best Original Song:
“You’ll Be in My Heart” from Tarzan – Music and Lyrics by Phil Collins (WINNER)
“Blame Canada” from South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut – Music and Lyrics by Trey Parker and Marc Shaiman
“Music of My Heart” from Music of the Heart – Music and Lyrics by Diane Warren
“Save Me” from Magnolia – Music and Lyrics by Aimee Mann
“When She Loved Me” from Toy Story 2 – Music and Lyrics by Randy Newman

Best Sound Effects Editing:
The Matrix – Dane Davis (WINNER)
Fight Club – Ren Klyce and Richard Hymns
Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace – Ben Burtt and Tom Bellfort

Best Sound:
The Matrix – John T. Reitz, Gregg Rudloff, David E. Campbell and David Lee (WINNER)
The Green Mile – Robert J. Litt, Elliot Tyson, Michael Herbick and Willie D. Burton
The Insider – Andy Nelson, Doug Hemphill and Lee Orloff
The Mummy – Leslie Shatz, Chris Carpenter, Rick Kline and Chris Munro
Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace – Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson, Shawn Murphy and John Midgley

Best Art Direction:
Sleepy Hollow – Art Direction: Rick Heinrichs; Set Decoration: Peter Young (WINNER)
Anna and the King – Art Direction: Luciana Arrighi; Set Decoration: Ian Whittaker
The Cider House Rules – Art Direction: David Gropman; Set Decoration: Beth Rubino
The Talented Mr. Ripley – Art Direction: Roy Walker; Set Decoration: Bruno Cesari
Topsy-Turvy – Art Direction: Eve Stewart; Set Decoration: Eve Stewart and John Bush

Best Cinematography:
American Beauty – Conrad Hall (WINNER)
The End of the Affair – Roger Pratt
The Insider – Dante Spinotti
Sleepy Hollow – Emmanuel Lubezki
Snow Falling on Cedars – Robert Richardson

Best Makeup:
Topsy-Turvy – Christine Blundell and Trefor Proud (WINNER)
Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me – Michèle Burke and Mike Smithson
Bicentennial Man – Greg Cannom
Life – Rick Baker

Best Costume Design:
Topsy-Turvy – Lindy Hemming (WINNER)
Anna and the King – Jenny Beavan
Sleepy Hollow – Colleen Atwood
The Talented Mr. Ripley – Ann Roth and Gary Jones
Titus – Milena Canonero

Best Film Editing:
The Matrix – Zach Staenberg (WINNER)
American Beauty – Tariq Anwar and Christopher Greenbury
The Cider House Rules – Lisa Zeno Churgin
The Insider – William Goldenberg, Paul Rubell and David Rosenbloom
The Sixth Sense – Andrew Mondshein

Best Visual Effects:
The Matrix – John Gaeta, Janek Sirrs, Steve Courtley and Jon Thum (WINNER)
Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace – John Knoll, Dennis Muren, Scott Squires and Rob Coleman
Stuart Little – John Dykstra, Jerome Chen, Henry F. Anderson III and Eric Allard

Academy Honorary Award:
Andrzej Wajda

Irving G. Thalberg Award:
Warren Beatty