1993 Oscars 65th Academy Awards

1993 Oscars 65th Academy Awards

Winners Announced: March 29, 1993
Held at: Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles, California
Host: Billy Crystal
Eligibility Year: 1992

1993 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Best Picture:
Unforgiven – Clint Eastwood, producer (WINNER)
The Crying Game – Stephen Woolley, producer
A Few Good Men – David Brown, Rob Reiner and Andrew Scheinman, producers
Howards End – Ismail Merchant, producer
Scent of a Woman – Martin Brest, producer

Best Director:
Clint Eastwood – Unforgiven (WINNER)
Neil Jordan – The Crying Game
James Ivory – Howards End
Robert Altman – The Player
Martin Brest – Scent of a Woman

Best Actor:
Al Pacino – Scent of a Woman as Lieutenant Colonel Frank Slade (WINNER)
Robert Downey Jr. – Chaplin as Charlie Chaplin
Clint Eastwood – Unforgiven as William “Will” Munny
Stephen Rea – The Crying Game as Fergus
Denzel Washington – Malcolm X as Malcolm X

Best Actress:
Emma Thompson – Howards End as Margaret Schlegel (WINNER)
Catherine Deneuve – Indochine as Éliane Devries
Mary McDonnell – Passion Fish as May-Alice Culhane
Michelle Pfeiffer – Love Field as Lurene Hallett
Susan Sarandon – Lorenzo’s Oil as Michaela Odone

Best Supporting Actor:
Gene Hackman – Unforgiven as Little Bill Daggett (WINNER)
Jaye Davidson – The Crying Game as Dil
Jack Nicholson – A Few Good Men as Colonel Nathan R. Jessup
Al Pacino – Glengarry Glen Ross as Ricky Roma
David Paymer – Mr. Saturday Night as Stan Young

Best Supporting Actress:
Marisa Tomei – My Cousin Vinny as Mona Lisa Vito (WINNER)
Judy Davis – Husbands and Wives as Sally Wainwright
Joan Plowright – Enchanted April as Mrs. Fisher
Vanessa Redgrave – Howards End as Ruth Wilcox
Miranda Richardson – Damage as Ingrid Fleming

Best Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen:
The Crying Game – Neil Jordan (WINNER)
Husbands and Wives – Woody Allen
Lorenzo’s Oil – George Miller and Nick Enright
Passion Fish – John Sayles
Unforgiven – David Webb Peoples

Best Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or Published:
Howards End – Ruth Prawer Jhabvala based on the novel by E.M. Forster (WINNER)
Enchanted April – Peter Barnes based on the novel by Elizabeth von Arnim
The Player – Michael Tolkin based on his novel
A River Runs Through It – Richard Friedenberg based upon the story by Norman Maclean
Scent of a Woman – Bo Goldman based on the previous film Profumo di donna by Ruggero Maccari and Dino Risi and the novel Il Buio E Il Miele by Giovanni Arpino

Best Foreign Language Film:
Indochine (France) in French – Régis Wargnier, director (WINNER)
Close to Eden (Russia) in Russian – Nikita Mikhalkov, director
Daens (Belgium) in Dutch – Stijn Coninx, director
Schtonk! (Germany) in German – Helmut Dietl, director

Best Documentary Feature:
The Panama Deception – Barbara Trent and David Kasper (WINNER)
Changing Our Minds: The Story of Dr. Evelyn Hooker – David Haugland
Fires of Kuwait – Sally Dundas
Liberators: Fighting on Two Fronts in World War II – Bill Miles and Nina Rosenblum
Music for the Movies: Bernard Herrmann – Margaret Smilow and Roma Baran

Best Documentary Short Subject:
Educating Peter – Thomas C. Goodwin (posthumous award) and Gerardine Wurzburg (WINNER)
At the Edge of Conquest: The Journey of Chief Wai-Wai – Geoffrey O’Connor
Beyond Imagining: Margaret Anderson and the ‘Little Review’ – Wendy L. Weinberg
The Colours of My Father: A Portrait of Sam Borenstein – Richard Elson and Sally Bochner
When Abortion Was Illegal: Untold Stories – Dorothy Fadiman

Best Live Action Short Film:
Omnibus – Sam Karmann (WINNER)
Contact – Jonathan Darby and Jana Sue Memel
Cruise Control – Matt Palmieri
The Lady in Waiting – Christian M. Taylor
Swan Song – Kenneth Branagh and David Parfitt

Best Animated Short Film:
Mona Lisa Descending a Staircase – Joan C. Gratz (WINNER)
Adam – Peter Lord
Reci, reci, reci – Michaela Pavlátová
The Sandman – Paul Berry
Screen Play – Barry Purves

Best Original Score:
Aladdin – Alan Menken (WINNER)
Basic Instinct – Jerry Goldsmith
Chaplin – John Barry
Howards End – Richard Robbins
A River Runs Through It – Mark Isham

Best Original Song:
“A Whole New World” from Aladdin – Music by Alan Menken; Lyrics by Tim Rice (WINNER)
“Friend Like Me” from Aladdin – Music by Alan Menken; Lyrics by Howard Ashman (posthumous nomination)
“I Have Nothing” from The Bodyguard – Music by David Foster; Lyrics by Linda Thompson
“Run to You” from The Bodyguard – Music by Jud Friedman; Lyrics by Allan Rich
“Beautiful Maria of My Soul” from The Mambo Kings – Music by Robert Kraft; Lyrics by Arne Glimcher

Best Sound Effects Editing:
Bram Stoker’s Dracula – David E. Stone and Tom McCarthy (WINNER)
Aladdin – Mark Mangini
Under Siege – John Leveque and Bruce Stambler

Best Sound:
The Last of the Mohicans – Chris Jenkins, Doug Hemphill, Mark Smith and Simon Kaye (WINNER)
Aladdin – Terry Porter, Mel Metcalfe, David J. Hudson and Doc Kane
A Few Good Men – Kevin O’Connell, Rick Kline and Robert Eber
Under Siege – Donald O. Mitchell, Frank A. Montaño, Rick Hart and Scott D. Smith
Unforgiven – Les Fresholtz, Vern Poore, Dick Alexander and Rob Young

Best Art Direction:
Howards End – Art Direction: Luciana Arrighi; Set Decoration: Ian Whittaker (WINNER)
Bram Stoker’s Dracula – Art Direction: Thomas E. Sanders; Set Decoration: Garrett Lewis
Chaplin – Art Direction: Stuart Craig; Set Decoration: Chris A. Butler
Toys – Art Direction: Ferdinando Scarfiotti; Set Decoration: Linda DeScenna
Unforgiven – Art Direction: Henry Bumstead; Set Decoration: Janice Blackie-Goodine

Best Cinematography:
A River Runs Through It – Philippe Rousselot (WINNER)
Hoffa – Stephen H. Burum
Howards End – Tony Pierce-Roberts
The Lover – Robert Fraisse
Unforgiven – Jack N. Green

Best Makeup:
Bram Stoker’s Dracula – Greg Cannom, Michèle Burke and Matthew W. Mungle (WINNER)
Batman Returns – Ve Neill, Ronnie Specter and Stan Winston
Hoffa – Ve Neill, Greg Cannom and John Blake

Best Costume Design:
Bram Stoker’s Dracula – Eiko Ishioka (WINNER)
Enchanted April – Sheena Napier
Howards End – Jenny Beavan and John Bright
Malcolm X – Ruth E. Carter
Toys – Albert Wolsky

Best Film Editing:
Unforgiven – Joel Cox (WINNER)
Basic Instinct – Frank J. Urioste
The Crying Game – Kant Pan
A Few Good Men – Robert Leighton
The Player – Geraldine Peroni

Best Visual Effects:
Death Becomes Her – Ken Ralston, Doug Chiang, Douglas Smythe and Tom Woodruff Jr. (WINNER)
Alien³ – Richard Edlund, Alec Gillis, Tom Woodruff Jr. and George Gibbs
Batman Returns – Michael L. Fink, Craig Barron, John Bruno and Dennis Skotak

Academy Honorary Award:
Federico Fellini – In recognition of his place as one of the screen’s master storytellers.

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Awards:
The award recognizes individuals whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the motion picture industry.
Audrey Hepburn (posthumous award)
Elizabeth Taylor