1992 Oscars 64th Academy Awards

1992 Oscars 64th Academy Awards

Winners Announced: March 30, 1992
Held at: Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles, California
Host: Billy Crystal
Eligibility Year: 1991

1992 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Best Picture:
The Silence of the Lambs – Edward Saxon, Kenneth Utt and Ron Bozman, producers (WINNER)
Beauty and the Beast – Don Hahn, producer
Bugsy – Mark Johnson, Barry Levinson and Warren Beatty, producers
JFK – A. Kitman Ho and Oliver Stone, producers
The Prince of Tides – Barbra Streisand and Andrew S. Karsch, producers

Best Director:
Jonathan Demme – The Silence of the Lambs (WINNER)
John Singleton – Boyz n the Hood
Barry Levinson – Bugsy
Oliver Stone – JFK
Ridley Scott – Thelma & Louise

Best Actor:
Anthony Hopkins – The Silence of the Lambs as Dr. Hannibal Lecter (WINNER)
Warren Beatty – Bugsy as Benjamin “Bugsy” Siegel
Robert De Niro – Cape Fear as Maximilian “Max” Cady
Nick Nolte – The Prince of Tides as Tom Wingo
Robin Williams – The Fisher King as Henry “Parry” Sagan

Best Actress:
Jodie Foster – The Silence of the Lambs as Clarice Starling (WINNER)
Geena Davis – Thelma & Louise as Thelma Dickinson
Laura Dern – Rambling Rose as Rose
Bette Midler – For the Boys as Dixie Leonard
Susan Sarandon – Thelma & Louise as Louise Sawyer

Best Supporting Actor:
Jack Palance – City Slickers as Curly Washburn (WINNER)
Tommy Lee Jones – JFK as Clay Shaw
Harvey Keitel – Bugsy as Mickey Cohen
Ben Kingsley – Bugsy as Meyer Lansky
Michael Lerner – Barton Fink as Jack Lipnick

Best Supporting Actress:
Mercedes Ruehl – The Fisher King as Anne Napolitano (WINNER)
Diane Ladd – Rambling Rose as Mother
Juliette Lewis – Cape Fear as Danielle Bowden
Kate Nelligan – The Prince of Tides as Lila Wingo Newbury
Jessica Tandy – Fried Green Tomatoes as Virginia “Ninny” Threadgoode

Best Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen:
Thelma & Louise – Callie Khouri (WINNER)
Boyz n the Hood – John Singleton
Bugsy – James Toback
The Fisher King – Richard LaGravenese
Grand Canyon – Lawrence Kasdan and Meg Kasdan

Best Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or Published:
The Silence of the Lambs – Ted Tally based on the novel by Thomas Harris (WINNER)
Europa Europa – Agnieszka Holland based on the memoirs of Solomon Perel
Fried Green Tomatoes – Fannie Flagg and Carol Sobieski (posthumous nomination) based on the novel Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg
JFK – Oliver Stone and Zachary Sklar based on the books Crossfire: The Plot That Killed Kennedy by Jim Marrs and On the Trail of the Assassins by Jim Garrison
The Prince of Tides – Pat Conroy and Becky Johnston based on the novel by Pat Conroy

Best Foreign Language Film:
Mediterraneo (Italy) in Italian – Gabriele Salvatores (WINNER)
Children of Nature (Iceland) in Icelandic – Friðrik Þór Friðriksson
The Elementary School (Czechoslovakia) in Czech – Jan Sverák
The Ox (Sweden) in Swedish – Sven Nykvist
Raise the Red Lantern (Hong Kong) in Mandarin – Zhang Yimou

Best Documentary Feature:
In the Shadow of the Stars – Allie Light and Irving Saraf, producers (WINNER)
Death on the Job – Vince DiPersio and William Guttentag, producers
Doing Time: Life Inside the Big House – Alan Raymond and Susan Raymond, producers
The Restless Conscience: Resistance to Hitler Within Germany 1933-1945 – Hava Kohav Beller, producer
Wild by Law – Lawrence Hott and Diane Garey, producers

Best Documentary Short Subject:
Deadly Deception: General Electric, Nuclear Weapons and Our Environment – Debra Chasnoff, producer (WINNER)
Birdnesters of Thailand – Éric Valli and Alain Majani d’Inguimbert, producers
A Little Vicious – Immy Humes, producer
The Mark of the Maker – David McGowan, producer
Memorial: Letters from American Soldiers – Bill Couturié and Bernard Edelman, producers

Best Live Action Short Film:
Session Man – Seth Winston and Rob Fried (WINNER)
Birch Street Gym – Stephen Kessler and Thomas R. Conroy
Last Breeze of Summer – David M. Massey

Best Animated Short Film:
Manipulation – Daniel Greaves (WINNER)
Blackfly – Christopher Hinton
Strings – Wendy Tilby

Best Original Score:
Beauty and the Beast – Alan Menken (WINNER)
Bugsy – Ennio Morricone
The Fisher King – George Fenton
JFK – John Williams
The Prince of Tides – James Newton Howard

Best Original Song:
“Beauty and the Beast” from Beauty and the Beast – Music by Alan Menken; Lyrics by Howard Ashman (posthumous award) (WINNER)
“Be Our Guest” from Beauty and the Beast – Music by Alan Menken; Lyrics by Howard Ashman (posthumous nomination)
“Belle” from Beauty and the Beast – Music by Alan Menken; Lyrics by Howard Ashman (posthumous nomination)
“(Everything I Do) I Do It for You” from Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves – Music by Michael Kamen; Lyrics by Bryan Adams and Robert John “Mutt” Lange
“When You’re Alone” from Hook – Music by John Williams; Lyrics by Leslie Bricusse

Best Sound:
Terminator 2: Judgment Day – Tom Johnson, Gary Rydstrom, Gary Summers and Lee Orloff (WINNER)
Backdraft – Gary Summers, Randy Thom, Gary Rydstrom and Glenn Williams
Beauty and the Beast – Terry Porter, Mel Metcalfe, David J. Hudson and Doc Kane
JFK – Michael Minkler, Gregg Landaker and Tod A. Maitland
The Silence of the Lambs – Tom Fleischman and Christopher Newman

Best Sound Effects Editing:
Terminator 2: Judgment Day – Gary Rydstrom and Gloria Borders (WINNER)
Backdraft – Gary Rydstrom and Richard Hymns
Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country – George Watters II and F. Hudson Miller

Best Art Direction:
Bugsy – Art Direction: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh (WINNER)
Barton Fink – Art Direction: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh
The Fisher King – Art Direction: Mel Bourne; Set Decoration: Cindy Carr
Hook – Art Direction: Norman Garwood; Set Decoration: Garrett Lewis
The Prince of Tides – Art Direction: Paul Sylbert; Set Decoration: Caryl Heller

Best Makeup:
Terminator 2: Judgment Day – Stan Winston and Jeff Dawn (WINNER)
Hook – Christina Smith, Monty Westmore and Greg Cannom
Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country – Michael Mills, Edward French and Richard Snell

Best Costume Design:
Bugsy – Albert Wolsky (WINNER)
The Addams Family – Ruth Myers
Barton Fink – Richard Hornung
Hook – Anthony Powell
Madame Bovary – Corinne Jorry

Best Cinematography:
JFK – Robert Richardson (WINNER)
Bugsy – Allen Daviau
The Prince of Tides – Stephen Goldblatt
Terminator 2: Judgment Day – Adam Greenberg
Thelma & Louise – Adrian Biddle

Best Film Editing:
JFK – Pietro Scalia and Joe Hutshing (WINNER)
The Commitments – Gerry Hambling
The Silence of the Lambs – Craig McKay
Terminator 2: Judgment Day – Conrad Buff, Mark Goldblatt and Richard A. Harris
Thelma & Louise – Thom Noble

Best Visual Effects:
Terminator 2: Judgment Day – Dennis Muren, Stan Winston, Gene Warren, Jr. and Robert Skotak (WINNER)
Backdraft – Mikael Salomon, Allen Hall, Clay Pinney and Scott Farrar
Hook – Eric Brevig, Harley Jessup, Mark Sullivan and Michael Lantieri

Academy Honorary Award:
Satyajit Ray

Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award:
George Lucas