1982 Oscars 54th Academy Awards

1982 Oscars 54th Academy Awards

Winners Announced: March 29, 1982
Held at: Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles, California
Host: Johnny Carson
Eligibility Year: 1981

The 54th Academy Awards was first year that the award for Best Makeup was presented; the winner was Rick Baker for his work on An American Werewolf in London.

1982 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Best Picture:
Chariots of Fire – David Puttnam, producer (WINNER)
Atlantic City – Denis Héroux and John Kemeny, producers
On Golden Pond – Bruce Gilbert, producer
Raiders of the Lost Ark – Frank Marshall, producer
Reds – Warren Beatty, producer

Best Director:
Warren Beatty – Reds (WINNER)
Louis Malle – Atlantic City
Hugh Hudson – Chariots of Fire
Mark Rydell – On Golden Pond
Steven Spielberg – Raiders of the Lost Ark

Best Actor:
Henry Fonda – On Golden Pond as Norman Thayer Jr. (WINNER)
Warren Beatty – Reds as John Silas “Jack” Reed
Burt Lancaster – Atlantic City as Lou Pascal
Dudley Moore – Arthur as Arthur Bach
Paul Newman – Absence of Malice as Michael Gallagher

Best Actress:
Katharine Hepburn – On Golden Pond as Ethel Thayer (WINNER)
Diane Keaton – Reds as Louise Bryant
Marsha Mason – Only When I Laugh as Georgia Hines
Susan Sarandon – Atlantic City as Sally Matthews
Meryl Streep – The French Lieutenant’s Woman as Sarah Woodruff/Anna

Best Supporting Actor:
John Gielgud – Arthur as Hobson (WINNER)
James Coco – Only When I Laugh as Jimmy Perrino
Ian Holm – Chariots of Fire as Sam Mussabini
Jack Nicholson – Reds as Eugene O’Neill
Howard E. Rollins Jr. – Ragtime as Coalhouse Walker Jr.

Best Supporting Actress:
Maureen Stapleton – Reds as Emma Goldman (WINNER)
Melinda Dillon – Absence of Malice as Teresa Perrone
Jane Fonda – On Golden Pond as Chelsea Thayer Wayne
Joan Hackett – Only When I Laugh as Toby Landau
Elizabeth McGovern – Ragtime as Evelyn Nesbit

Best Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen:
Chariots of Fire – Colin Welland (WINNER)
Absence of Malice – Kurt Luedtke
Arthur – Steve Gordon
Atlantic City – John Guare
Reds – Warren Beatty and Trevor Griffiths

Best Screenplay Based on Material from Another Medium:
On Golden Pond – Ernest Thompson based on his play (WINNER)
The French Lieutenant’s Woman – Harold Pinter based on the novel by John Fowles
Pennies from Heaven – Dennis Potter based on his TV series
Prince of the City – Jay Presson Allen and Sidney Lumet based on the book by Robert Daley
Ragtime – Michael Weller based on the novel by E. L. Doctorow

Best Foreign Language Film:
Mephisto (Hungary) (WINNER)
The Boat Is Full (Switzerland)
Man of Iron (Poland)
Muddy River (Japan)
Three Brothers (Italy)

Best Documentary Feature:
Genocide – Arnold Schwartzman and Rabbi Marvin Hier (WINNER)
Against Wind and Tide: A Cuban Odyssey – Suzanne Bauman, Paul Neshamkin and Jim Burroughs
Brooklyn Bridge – Ken Burns
Eight Minutes to Midnight: A Portrait of Dr. Helen Caldicott – Mary Benjamin, Susanne Simpson and Boyd Estus
El Salvador: Another Vietnam – Glenn Silber and Tete Vasconcellos

Best Documentary Short Subject:
Close Harmony – Nigel Noble (WINNER)
Americas in Transition – Obie Benz
Journey for Survival – Dick Young
See What I Say – Linda Chapman, Pam LeBlanc and Freddi Stevens
Urge to Build – Roland Hallé and John Hoover

Best Live Action Short Film:
Violet – Paul Kemp and Shelley Levinson (WINNER)
Couples and Robbers – Christine Oestreicher
First Winter – John N. Smith

Best Animated Short Film:
Crac – Frédéric Back (WINNER)
The Creation – Will Vinton
The Tender Tale of Cinderella Penguin – Janet Perlman

Best Original Score:
Chariots of Fire – Vangelis (WINNER)
Dragonslayer – Alex North
On Golden Pond – Dave Grusin
Ragtime – Randy Newman
Raiders of the Lost Ark – John Williams

Best Original Song:
“Arthur’s Theme (Best That You Can Do)” from Arthur – Music by Burt Bacharach; Lyrics by Carole Bayer Sager, Christopher Cross and Peter Allen (WINNER)
“Endless Love” from Endless Love – Music and Lyrics by Lionel Richie
“The First Time It Happens” from The Great Muppet Caper – Music and Lyrics by Joe Raposo
“For Your Eyes Only” from For Your Eyes Only – Music by Bill Conti; Lyrics by Mick Leeson
“One More Hour” from Ragtime – Music and Lyrics by Randy Newman

Best Sound:
Raiders of the Lost Ark – Bill Varney, Steve Maslow, Gregg Landaker and Roy Charman (WINNER)
On Golden Pond – Richard Portman and David M. Ronne
Outland – John Wilkinson, Robert W. Glass Jr., Robert Thirlwell and Robin Gregory
Pennies from Heaven – Michael J. Kohut, Jay M. Harding, Richard Tyler and Al Overton Jr.
Reds – Dick Vorisek, Tom Fleischman and Simon Kaye

Best Makeup:
An American Werewolf in London – Rick Baker (WINNER)
Heartbeeps – Stan Winston

Best Costume Design:
Chariots of Fire – Milena Canonero (WINNER)
The French Lieutenant’s Woman – Tom Rand
Pennies from Heaven – Bob Mackie
Ragtime – Anna Hill Johnstone
Reds – Shirley Russell

Best Art Direction:
Raiders of the Lost Ark – Art Direction: Norman Reynolds and Leslie Dilley; Set Decoration: Michael Ford (WINNER)
The French Lieutenant’s Woman – Art Direction: Assheton Gorton; Set Decoration: Ann Mollo
Heaven’s Gate – Art Direction: Tambi Larsen; Set Decoration: James L. Berkey
Ragtime – Art Direction: John Graysmark, Patrizia von Brandenstein and Anthony Reading; Set Decoration: George DeTitta Sr., George DeTitta Jr. and Peter Howitt
Reds – Art Direction: Richard Sylbert; Set Decoration: Michael Seirton

Best Cinematography:
Reds – Vittorio Storaro (WINNER)
Excalibur – Alex Thomson
On Golden Pond – Billy Williams
Ragtime – Miroslav Ondrícek
Raiders of the Lost Ark – Douglas Slocombe

Best Film Editing:
Raiders of the Lost Ark – Michael Kahn (WINNER)
Chariots of Fire – Terry Rawlings
The French Lieutenant’s Woman – John Bloom
On Golden Pond – Robert L. Wolfe (posthumous nomination)
Reds – Dede Allen and Craig McKay

Best Visual Effects:
Raiders of the Lost Ark – Richard Edlund, Kit West, Bruce Nicholson and Joe Johnston (WINNER)
Dragonslayer – Dennis Muren, Phil Tippett, Ken Ralston and Brian Johnson

Honorary Academy Award:
Barbara Stanwyck

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award:
Danny Kaye

Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award:
Albert R. Broccoli

Gordon E. Sawyer Award:
Joseph B. Walker

Special Achievement Academy Award:
Ben Burtt and Richard L. Anderson for Raiders of the Lost Ark for Sound Effects Editing