1973 Oscars 45th Academy Awards

1973 Oscars 45th Academy Awards

Winners Announced: March 27, 1973
Held at: Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles, California
Hosts: Carol Burnett, Michael Caine, Charlton Heston, Rock Hudson
Eligibility Year: 1972

  • Marlon Brando’s boycotted the Oscars, sending Sacheen Littlefeather to explain why he would not show up to collect his Best Actor award for The Godfather.
  • This was the first time that two African American women received nominations for Best Actress

Best Picture:
The Godfather – Albert S. Ruddy, producer
Cabaret – Cy Feuer, producer
Deliverance – John Boorman, producer
The Emigrants – Bengt Forslund, producer
Sounder – Robert B. Radnitz, producer

Best Director:
Bob Fosse – Cabaret
John Boorman – Deliverance
Jan Troell – The Emigrants
Francis Ford Coppola – The Godfather
Joseph L. Mankiewicz – Sleuth

Best Actor:
Marlon Brando – The Godfather as Vito Corleone (declined)
Michael Caine – Sleuth as Milo Tindle
Laurence Olivier – Sleuth as Andrew Wyke
Peter O’Toole – The Ruling Class as Jack Gurney
Paul Winfield – Sounder as Nathan Lee Morgan

Best Actress:
Liza Minnelli – Cabaret as Sally Bowles
Diana Ross – Lady Sings the Blues as Billie Holiday
Maggie Smith – Travels with My Aunt as Augusta Bertram
Cicely Tyson – Sounder as Rebecca Morgan
Liv Ullmann – The Emigrants as Kristina Nilsson

Best Supporting Actor:
Joel Grey – Cabaret as the M.C.
Eddie Albert – The Heartbreak Kid as Mr. Corcoran
James Caan – The Godfather as Santino “Sonny” Corleone
Robert Duvall – The Godfather as Tom Hagen
Al Pacino – The Godfather as Michael Corleone

Best Supporting Actress:
Eileen Heckart – Butterflies Are Free as Mrs. Baker
Jeannie Berlin – The Heartbreak Kid as Lila Kolodny
Geraldine Page – Pete ‘n’ Tillie as Gertrude Wilson
Susan Tyrrell – Fat City as Oma
Shelley Winters – The Poseidon Adventure as Belle Rosen

Best Screenplay Based on Factual Material or Material Not Previously Produced or Published:
The Candidate – Jeremy Larner
The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie – Luis Buñuel and Jean-Claude Carrière
Lady Sings the Blues – Chris Clark, Suzanne de Passe and Terence McCloy
Murmur of the Heart – Louis Malle
Young Winston – Carl Foreman

Best Screenplay Based on Material from Another Medium:
The Godfather – Francis Ford Coppola and Mario Puzo based on the novel by Puzo
Cabaret – Jay Presson Allen based on the musical by Fred Ebb and John Kander and the book by Joe Masteroff
The Emigrants – Bengt Forslund and Jan Troell based on the novels The Emigrants and Unto a Good Land by Vilhelm Moberg
Pete ‘n’ Tillie – Julius J. Epstein based on the story Witch’s Milk by Peter De Vries
Sounder – Lonne Elder III based on the novel by William H. Armstrong

Best Documentary Feature:
Marjoe – Sarah Kernochan and Howard Smith
Ape and Super-Ape – Bert Haanstra
Malcolm X – Arnold Perl (posthumous nomination) and Marvin Worth
Manson – Robert Hendrickson and Laurence Merrick
The Silent Revolution – Eckehard Munck

Best Documentary Short Subject:
This Tiny World – Charles Huguenot van der Linden and Martina Huguenot van der Linden
Hundertwasser’s Rainy Day – Peter Schamoni
K-Z – Giorgio Treves
Selling Out – Tadeusz Jaworski
The Tide of Traffic – Humphrey Swingler

Best Live Action Short Subject:
Norman Rockwell’s World… An American Dream – Richard Barclay
Frog Story – Ray Gideon and Ron Satlof
Solo – David Adams

Best Animated Short Subject:
A Christmas Carol – Richard Williams
Kama Sutra Rides Again – Bob Godfrey
Tup Tup – Nedeljko Dragic

Best Foreign Language Film:
The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie (France) in French – Luis Buñuel
The Dawns Here Are Quiet (USSR) in Russian – Stanislav Rostotsky
I Love You Rosa (Israel) in Hebrew – Moshé Mizrahi
My Dearest Senorita (Spain) in Spanish – Jaime de Armiñán
The New Land (Sweden) in Swedish – Jan Troell

Best Song Original for the Picture:
“The Morning After” from The Poseidon Adventure – Music and Lyrics by Joel Hirschhorn and Al Kasha
“Ben” from Ben – Music by Walter Scharf; Lyrics by Don Black
“Come Follow, Follow Me” from The Little Ark – Music by Fred Karlin; Lyrics by Marsha Karlin
“Marmalade, Molasses & Honey” from The Life and Times of Judge Roy Bean – Music by Maurice Jarre; Lyrics by Alan and Marilyn Bergman
“Strange Are the Ways of Love” from The Stepmother – Music by Sammy Fain; Lyrics by Paul Francis Webster

Best Original Dramatic Score:
Limelight – Charlie Chaplin, Raymond Rasch and Larry Russell (posthumous awards)
Images – John Williams
Napoleon and Samantha – Buddy Baker
The Poseidon Adventure – John Williams
Sleuth – John Addison

Best Scoring: Adaptation and Original Song Score:
Cabaret – Adaptated by Ralph Burns
Lady Sings the Blues – Adapted by Gil Askey
Man of La Mancha – Adapted by Laurence Rosenthal

Best Costume Design:
Travels with My Aunt – Anthony Powell
The Godfather – Anna Hill Johnstone
Lady Sings the Blues – Ray Aghayan, Norma Koch and Bob Mackie
The Poseidon Adventure – Paul Zastupnevich
Young Winston – Anthony Mendleson

Best Sound:
Cabaret – David Hildyard and Robert Knudson
Butterflies Are Free – Charles T. Knight and Arthur Piantadosi
The Candidate – Gene Cantamessa and Richard Portman
The Godfather – Bud Grenzbach, Christopher Newman and Richard Portman
The Poseidon Adventure – Herman Lewis and Theodore Soderberg

Best Art Direction:
Cabaret – Art Direction: Hans Jürgen Kiebach and Rolf Zehetbauer; Set Decoration: Herbert Strabel
Lady Sings the Blues – Art Direction: Carl Anderson; Set Decoration: Reg Allen
The Poseidon Adventure – Art Direction: William Creber; Set Decoration: Raphaël Bretton
Travels with My Aunt – Art Direction and Set Decoration: John Box, Robert W. Laing and Gil Parrondo
Young Winston – Art Direction: Donald M. Ashton, Geoffrey Drake, John Graysmark and William Hutchinson; Set Decoration: Peter James

Best Cinematography:
Cabaret – Geoffrey Unsworth
1776 – Harry Stradling Jr.
Butterflies Are Free – Charles Lang
The Poseidon Adventure – Harold E. Stine
Travels with My Aunt – Douglas Slocombe

Best Film Editing:
Cabaret – David Bretherton
Deliverance – Tom Priestley
The Godfather – William H. Reynolds and Peter Zinner
The Hot Rock – Fred W. Berger and Frank P. Keller
The Poseidon Adventure – Harold F. Kress

Special Achievement Award:
L. B. Abbott and A. D. Flowers for the visual effects of The Poseidon Adventure

Academy Honorary Award:
Charles S. Boren
Edward G. Robinson

Oscar® and Academy Awards® and Oscar® design mark are the trademarks and service marks and the Oscar© statuette the copyrighted property, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Pop Culture Madness is neither endorsed by nor affiliated with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.