1972 Oscar Nominees and Winners

1972 Oscars 44th Academy Awards

Winners Announced: April 10, 1972
Held at: Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles, California
Hosts: Helen Hayes, Alan King, Sammy Davis, Jr., Jack Lemmon
Eligibility Year: 1971

  • When introduced to the audience, Charlie Chaplin received a twelve-minute standing ovation, the longest in Academy Awards history.
  • This was the first time in which the nominees were shown on superimposed pictures while being announced.


1972 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Best Picture:
The French Connection – Philip D’Antoni, producer (WINNER)
A Clockwork Orange – Stanley Kubrick, producer
Fiddler on the Roof – Norman Jewison, producer
The Last Picture Show – Stephen J. Friedman, producer
Nicholas and Alexandra – Sam Spiegel, producer

Best Director:
William Friedkin – The French Connection (WINNER)
Stanley Kubrick – A Clockwork Orange
Norman Jewison – Fiddler on the Roof
Peter Bogdanovich – The Last Picture Show
John Schlesinger – Sunday Bloody Sunday

Best Actor:
Gene Hackman – The French Connection as Det. Jimmy “Popeye” Doyle (WINNER)
Peter Finch – Sunday Bloody Sunday as Dr. Daniel Hirsch
Walter Matthau – Kotch as Joseph P. Kotcher
George C. Scott – The Hospital as Dr. Herbert “Herb” Bock
Chaim Topol – Fiddler on the Roof as Tevye

Best Actress:
Jane Fonda – Klute as Bree Daniels (WINNER)
Julie Christie – McCabe & Mrs. Miller as Constance Miller
Glenda Jackson – Sunday Bloody Sunday as Alex Greville
Vanessa Redgrave – Mary, Queen of Scots as Mary, Queen of Scots
Janet Suzman – Nicholas and Alexandra as Empress Alexandra

Best Supporting Actor:
Ben Johnson – The Last Picture Show as Sam the Lion (WINNER)
Jeff Bridges – The Last Picture Show as Duane Jackson
Leonard Frey – Fiddler on the Roof as Motel Kamzoil
Richard Jaeckel – Sometimes a Great Notion as Joe Ben Stamper
Roy Scheider – The French Connection as Det. Buddy ‘Cloudy’ Russo

Best Supporting Actress:
Cloris Leachman – The Last Picture Show as Ruth Popper (WINNER)
Ann-Margret – Carnal Knowledge as Bobbie
Ellen Burstyn – The Last Picture Show as Lois Farrow
Barbara Harris – Who Is Harry Kellerman and Why Is He Saying Those Terrible Things About Me? as Allison Densmore
Margaret Leighton – The Go-Between as Mrs. Maudsley

Best Story and Screenplay Based on Factual Material or Material Not Previously Produced or Published:
The Hospital – Paddy Chayefsky (WINNER)
Investigation of a Citizen Above Suspicion – Elio Petri and Ugo Pirro
Klute – Andy Lewis and Dave Lewis
Summer of ’42 – Herman Raucher
Sunday Bloody Sunday – Penelope Gilliatt

Best Screenplay Based on Material from Another Medium:
The French Connection – Ernest Tidyman based on the book by Robin Moore (WINNER)
A Clockwork Orange – Stanley Kubrick based on the novel by Anthony Burgess
The Conformist – Bernardo Bertolucci based on the novel Il Conformista by Alberto Moravia
The Garden of the Finzi-Continis – Vittorio Bonicelli and Ugo Pirro based on the novel by Giorgio Bassani
The Last Picture Show – Peter Bogdanovich and Larry McMurtry based on the novel by Larry McMurtry

Best Foreign Language Film:
The Garden of the Finzi-Continis (Italy) in Italian – Vittorio De Sica (WINNER)
Dodes’ka-den (Japan) in Japanese – Akira Kurosawa
The Emigrants (Sweden) in Swedish – Jan Troell
The Policeman (Israel) in Hebrew – Ephraim Kishon
Tchaikovsky (USSR) in Russian – Igor Talankin

Best Costume Design:
Nicholas and Alexandra – Yvonne Blake and Antonio Castillo (WINNER)
Bedknobs and Broomsticks – Bill Thomas
Death in Venice – Piero Tosi
Mary, Queen of Scots – Margaret Furse
What’s the Matter with Helen? – Morton Haack

Best Documentary Feature:
The Hellstrom Chronicle – Walon Green (WINNER)
Alaska Wilderness Lake – Alan Landsburg
On Any Sunday – Bruce Brown
Ra – Lennart Ehrenborg and Thor Heyerdahl
The Sorrow and the Pity – Marcel Ophüls

Best Documentary Short Subject:
Sentinels of Silence – Robert Amram and Manuel Arango (WINNER)
Adventures in Perception – Han van Gelder
Art Is… – Julian Krainin and DeWitt L. Sage, Jr.
The Numbers Start with the River – Donald Wrye
Somebody Waiting – Sherwood Omens, Hal Riney and Dick Snider

Best Live Action Short Subject:
Sentinels of Silence – Robert Amram and Manuel Arango (WINNER)
Good Morning – Denny Evans and Ken Greenwald
The Rehearsal – Stephen F. Verona

Best Animated Short Subject:
The Crunch Bird – Ted Petok (WINNER)
Evolution – Michael Mills
The Selfish Giant – Peter Sander and Murray Shostak

Best Original Dramatic Score:
Summer of ’42 – Michel Legrand (WINNER)
Mary, Queen of Scots – John Barry
Nicholas and Alexandra – Richard Rodney Bennett
Shaft – Isaac Hayes
Straw Dogs – Jerry Fielding

Best Scoring: Adaptation and Original Song Score:
Fiddler on the Roof – Adapted by John Williams (WINNER)
Bedknobs and Broomsticks – Adapted by Irwin Kostal; Song Score by The Sherman Brothers: Robert B. and Richard M.
The Boy Friend – Adapted by Peter Maxwell Davies and Peter Greenwell
Tchaikovsky – Adapted by Dimitri Tiomkin
Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory – Adapted by Walter Scharf; Song Score by Leslie Bricusse and Anthony Newley

Best Song Original for the Picture:
“Theme from Shaft” from Shaft – Music and Lyrics by Isaac Hayes (WINNER)
“The Age of Not Believing” from Bedknobs and Broomsticks – Music and Lyrics by Robert Sherman and Richard Sherman
“All His Children” from Sometimes a Great Notion – Music by Henry Mancini; Lyrics by Alan and Marilyn Bergman
“Bless the Beasts and Children” from Bless the Beasts and Children – Music and Lyrics by Perry Botkin Jr. and Barry De Vorzon
“Life Is What You Make It” from Kotch – Music by Marvin Hamlisch; Lyrics by Johnny Mercer

Best Sound:
Fiddler on the Roof – David Hildyard and Gordon K. McCallum (WINNER)
Diamonds Are Forever – Gordon K. McCallum, John W. Mitchell and Alfred J. Overton
The French Connection – Christopher Newman and Theodore Soderberg
Kotch – Richard Portman and Jack Solomon
Mary, Queen of Scots – John Aldred and Bob Jones

Best Art Direction:
Nicholas and Alexandra – Art Direction: Ernest Archer, John Box, Jack Maxsted and Gil Parrondo; Set Decoration: Vernon Dixon (WINNER)
The Andromeda Strain – Art Direction: Boris Leven and William H. Tuntke; Set Decoration: Ruby R. Levitt
Bedknobs and Broomsticks – Art Direction: Peter Ellenshaw and John B. Mansbridge; Set Decoration: Hal Gausman and Emile Kuri
Fiddler on the Roof – Art Direction: Robert F. Boyle and Michael Stringer; Set Decoration: Peter Lamont
Mary, Queen of Scots – Art Direction: Terence Marsh and Robert Cartwright; Set Decoration: Peter Howitt

Best Cinematography:
Fiddler on the Roof – Oswald Morris (WINNER)
The French Connection – Owen Roizman
The Last Picture Show – Robert Surtees
Nicholas and Alexandra – Freddie Young
Summer of ’42 – Robert Surtees

Best Film Editing:
The French Connection – Gerald B. Greenberg (WINNER)
The Andromeda Strain – Stuart Gilmore (posthumous nomination) and John W. Holmes
A Clockwork Orange – Bill Butler
Kotch – Ralph E. Winters
Summer of ’42 – Folmar Blangsted

Best Special Visual Effects:
Bedknobs and Broomsticks – Danny Lee, Eustace Lycett and Alan Maley (WINNER)
When Dinosaurs Ruled the Earth – Jim Danforth and Roger Dicken

Honorary Academy Award:
Charlie Chaplin received an honorary award at this ceremony, for “the incalculable effect he has had in making motion pictures the art form of this century”.

Oscar® and Academy Awards® and Oscar® design mark are the trademarks and service marks and the Oscar© statuette the copyrighted property, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Pop Culture Madness is neither endorsed by nor affiliated with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!