1935 Oscars 7th Academy Awards

1935 Oscars 7th Academy Awards

Winners Announced: February 27, 1935
Held at: Biltmore Hotel (Biltmore Bowl)
Host: Irvin S. Cobb
Eligibility Year: 1934

  • Shirley Temple, age 6, received the first Juvenile Award, making her the youngest Oscar recipient ever.
  • One Night of Love earned 6 nominations
  • It Happened One Night became the first film to win all of the top five award categories: Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress and Best Screenplay.

1935 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Outstanding Production:
It Happened One Night – Frank Capra and Harry Cohn for Columbia (WINNER)
The Barretts of Wimpole Street – Irving Thalberg for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
Cleopatra – Cecil B. DeMille for Paramount
Flirtation Walk – Jack L. Warner, Hal B. Wallis, and Robert Lord for First National
The Gay Divorcee – Pandro S. Berman for RKO Pictures
Here Comes the Navy – Lou Edelman for Warner Bros.
The House of Rothschild – Darryl F. Zanuck, William Goetz, and Raymond Griffith for 20th Century
Imitation of Life – John M. Stahl for Universal
One Night of Love – Harry Cohn and Everett Riskin for Columbia
The Thin Man – Hunt Stromberg for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
Viva Villa! – David O. Selznick for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
The White Parade – Jesse L. Lasky for Fox Film Co.

Best Director:

Frank Capra – It Happened One Night (WINNER)
Victor Schertzinger – One Night of Love
W. S. Van Dyke – The Thin Man

Best Actor:
Clark Gable – It Happened One Night as Peter Warne (WINNER)
Frank Morgan – The Affairs of Cellini as Alessandro, Duke of Florence
William Powell – The Thin Man as Nick Charles

Best Actress:
Claudette Colbert – It Happened One Night as Ellen “Ellie” Andrews (WINNER)
Bette Davis – Of Human Bondage (write-in, not official nomination)[2] as Mildred Rogers
Grace Moore – One Night of Love as Mary Barrett
Norma Shearer – The Barretts of Wimpole Street as Elizabeth Barrett

Best Original Story:
Manhattan Melodrama – Arthur Caesar (WINNER)
Hide-Out – Mauri Grashin
The Richest Girl in the World – Norman Krasna

Best Adaptation:
It Happened One Night – Robert Riskin, based on the story “Night Bus” by Samuel Hopkins Adams (WINNER)
The Thin Man – Frances Goodrich and Albert Hackett, based on the novel by Dashiell Hammett
Viva Villa! – Ben Hecht, based on the novel by Edgecumb Pinchon and O. B. Stade

Best Live Action Short Subject, Comedy:
La Cucaracha – Kenneth Macgowan and Pioneer Pictures (WINNER)
Men in Black – Jules White
What, No Men! – Warner Bros.

Best Live Action Short Subject, Novelty:
City of Wax – Horace Woodard and Stacy Woodard (WINNER)
Bosom Friends – Skibo Productions
Strikes and Spares – Pete Smith

Best Short Subject, Cartoon:

The Tortoise and the Hare – Walt Disney (WINNER)
Holiday Land – Screen Gems
Jolly Little Elves – Walter Lantz

Best Scoring:
One Night of Love – Columbia Studio Music Department (WINNER)
The Gay Divorcee – RKO Radio Studio Music Department
The Lost Patrol – RKO Radio Studio Music Department

Best Song:

“The Continental” from The Gay Divorcee – Music by Con Conrad; Lyrics by Herb Magidson (WINNER)
“Carioca” from Flying Down to Rio – Music by Vincent Youmans; Lyrics by Edward Eliscu and Gus Kahn
“Love in Bloom” from She Loves Me Not – Music by Ralph Rainger; Lyrics by Leo Robin

Best Sound Recording:
One Night of Love – John P. Livadary (WINNER)
The Affairs of Cellini – Thomas T. Moulton
Cleopatra – Franklin Hansen
Flirtation Walk – Nathan Levinson
The Gay Divorcee – Carl Dreher
Imitation of Life – Theodore Soderberg
Viva Villa! – Douglas Shearer
The White Parade – Edmund H. Hansen

Best Art Direction:
The Merry Widow – Cedric Gibbons and Fredric Hope (WINNER)
The Affairs of Cellini – Richard Day
The Gay Divorcee – Van Nest Polglase and Carroll Clark

Best Cinematography:
Cleopatra – Victor Milner (WINNER)
The Affairs of Cellini – Charles Rosher
Operator 13 – George J. Folsey

Best Film Editing:
Eskimo – Conrad A. Nervig (WINNER)
Cleopatra – Anne Bauchens
One Night of Love – Gene Milford

Best Assistant Director:
Viva Villa! – John S. Waters (WINNER)
Cleopatra – Cullen Tate
Imitation of Life – Scott Beal
Academy Juvenile Award
Shirley Temple

Oscar® and Academy Awards® and Oscar® design mark are the trademarks and service marks and the Oscar© statuette the copyrighted property, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Pop Culture Madness is neither endorsed by nor affiliated with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.