1934 Oscars 6th Academy Awards

1934 Oscars 6th Academy Awards

Winners Announced: March 16, 1934
Held at: The Ambassador Hotel in Los Angeles, California
Host: Will Rogers
Eligibility Year: August 1, 1932, to December 31, 1933

  • Cavalcade, A Farewell to Arms and Lady for a Day each earned 6 nominations.
  • First Oscar “oops!”: Will Rogers presented the Academy Award for Best Director, and when he opened the envelope he simply announced, “Come up and get it, Frank!”
    Frank Capra, certain he was the winner, ran to the podium to collect the Oscar, only to discover Rogers had meant Frank Lloyd, who won for Cavalcade, instead. Will then called the third nominee, George Cukor, to join the two Franks on stage. #oops1934 Academy Award Nominees and Winners

Outstanding Production:
Cavalcade – Winfield Sheehan for Fox Film Co. (WINNER)
42nd Street – Darryl F. Zanuck for Warner Bros.
A Farewell to Arms – Adolph Zukor for Paramount Publix
I Am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang – Hal B. Wallis for Warner Bros.
Lady for a Day – Frank Capra for Columbia
Little Women – Merian C. Cooper and Kenneth Macgowan for RKO Pictures
The Private Life of Henry VIII – Alexander Korda for London Films
She Done Him Wrong – William LeBaron for Paramount Publix
Smilin’ Through – Irving Thalberg for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
State Fair – Winfield Sheehan for Fox Film Co.

Best Director:
Frank Lloyd – Cavalcade (WINNER)
Frank Capra – Lady for a Day
George Cukor – Little Women

Best Actor:
Charles Laughton – The Private Life of Henry VIII as Henry VIII (WINNER)
Leslie Howard – Berkeley Square as Peter Standish
Paul Muni – I Am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang as James Allen

Best Actress:
Katharine Hepburn – Morning Glory as Eva Lovelace (WINNER)
May Robson – Lady for a Day as Apple Annie
Diana Wynyard – Cavalcade as Jane Marryot

Best Original Story:
One Way Passage – Robert Lord (WINNER)
The Prizefighter and the Lady – Frances Marion
Rasputin and the Empress – Charles MacArthur

Best Adaptation:
Little Women – Victor Heerman and Sarah Y. Mason, based on the novel by Louisa May Alcott (WINNER)
Lady for a Day – Robert Riskin, based on the story “Madame la Gimp” by Damon Runyon
State Fair – Paul Green and Sonya Levien, based on the novel by Phil Strong

Best Art Direction:
Cavalcade – William S. Darling
A Farewell to Arms – Hans Dreier and Roland Anderson
When Ladies Meet – Cedric Gibbons

Best Cinematography:
A Farewell to Arms – Charles Lang (WINNER)
Reunion in Vienna – George J. Folsey
Sign of the Cross – Karl Struss

Best Live Action Short Subject, Comedy:
So This Is Harris! –Louis Brock and RKO Pictures (WINNER)
Mister Mugg – Warren Doane and Universal Studios
A Preferred List – Louis Brock and RKO Pictures

Best Live Action Short Subject, Novelty:
Krakatoa – Joe Rock and Educational Pictures (WINNER)
Menu – Pete Smith and MGM
The Sea – Educational Pictures

Best Short Subject, Cartoon:
The Three Little Pigs – Walt Disney and United Artists (WINNER)
Building a Building – Walt Disney and United Artists
The Merry Old Soul – Walter Lantz and Universal Studios

Best Sound Recording:
A Farewell to Arms – Franklin Hansen (WINNER)
42nd Street – Nathan Levinson
Gold Diggers of 1933 – Nathan Levinson
I Am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang – Nathan Levinson

Best Assistant Director:
Charles Barton – Paramount (WINNER)
Scott Beal – Universal (WINNER)
Charles Dorian – MGM (WINNER)
Fred Fox – United Artists (WINNER)
Gordon Hollingshead – Warner Bros. (WINNER)
Dewey Starkey – RKO (WINNER)
William Tummel – 20th Century Fox (WINNER)
Al Alleborn – Warner Bros.
Sid Brod – Paramount
Orville O. Dull – MGM
Percy Ikerd – 20th Century Fox
Arthur Jacobson – Paramount
Edward Killy – RKO
Joseph A. McDonough – Universal
William J. Reiter – Universal
Frank Shaw – Warner Bros.
Ben Silvey – United Artists
John S. Waters – MGM

Oscar® and Academy Awards® and Oscar® design mark are the trademarks and service marks and the Oscar© statuette the copyrighted property, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Pop Culture Madness is neither endorsed by nor affiliated with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.