(1932) Oscars 4th Academy Awards

(1932) Oscars 4th Academy Awards

Winners Announced: The (1932) Oscars were held on November 10, 1931
(The ‘correct’ years began in 1934)
Held at: the Sala D’Oro in the Biltmore Hotel
Host: Lawrence Grant
Eligibility Year: August 1, 1930, and July 31, 1931

  • Cimarron earned 7 nominations, winning 3. It was the first Western to win Best Picture. The second was Dances With Wolves in 1990.
  • Charlie Chaplin’s City Lights received no nominations.
  • Also Snubbed: Dracula, Frankenstein, Little Caesar, Public Enemy, Applause

4th Academy Awards Oscar Nominees and Winners

Outstanding Production:
Cimarron – William LeBaron for RKO Pictures (WINNER)
East Lynne – Winfield Sheehan for Fox Film Corporation
The Front Page – Howard Hughes for United Artists
Skippy – Adolph Zukor for Paramount Pictures
Trader Horn – Irving Thalberg for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer

Best Director:
Norman Taurog – Skippy (WINNER)
Wesley Ruggles – Cimarron
Clarence Brown – A Free Soul
Lewis Milestone – The Front Page
Josef von Sternberg – Morocco

Best Actor:
Lionel Barrymore – A Free Soul as Stephen Ashe (WINNER)
Jackie Cooper – Skippy as Skippy Skinner
Richard Dix – Cimarron as Yancey Cravat
Fredric March – The Royal Family of Broadway as Tony Cavendish
Adolphe Menjou – The Front Page as Walter Burns

Best Actress:
Marie Dressler – Min and Bill as Min Divot (WINNER)
Marlene Dietrich – Morocco as Amy Jolly
Irene Dunne – Cimarron as Sabra
Ann Harding – Holiday as Linda Seton
Norma Shearer – A Free Soul as Jan Ashe

Best Original Story:
The Dawn Patrol – John Monk Saunders (WINNER)
The Doorway to Hell – Rowland Brown
Laughter – Harry d’Abbadie d’Arrast, Douglas Doty, and Donald Ogden Stewart
The Public Enemy – John Bright and Kubec Glasmon
Smart Money – Lucien Hubbard and Joseph Jackson

Best Adaptation:
Cimarron – Howard Estabrook, based on the novel by Edna Ferber (WINNER)
The Criminal Code – Seton I. Miller and Fred Niblo Jr., based on the play by Martin Flavin
Holiday – Horace Jackson, based on the play by Philip Barry
Little Caesar – Francis Edward Faragoh and Robert N. Lee, based on the novel by William R. Burnett
Skippy – Joseph L. Mankiewicz and Sam Mintz, based on the comic strip by Percy Crosby

Best Sound Recording:
Paramount Publix Studio Sound Department (WINNER)
MGM Studio Sound Department
RKO Radio Studio Sound Department
Samuel Goldwyn-United Artists Studio Sound Department

Best Art Direction:
Cimarron – Max Rée (WINNER)
Just Imagine – Stephen Goosson and Ralph Hammeras
Morocco – Hans Dreier
Svengali – Anton Grot
Whoopee! – Richard Day

Best Cinematography:
Tabu – Floyd Crosby (WINNER)
Cimarron – Edward Cronjager
Morocco – Lee Garmes
The Right to Love – Charles Lang
Svengali – Barney McGill

Oscar® and Academy Awards® and Oscar® design mark are the trademarks and service marks and the Oscar© statuette the copyrighted property, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Pop Culture Madness is neither endorsed by nor affiliated with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.