(1930) Oscars 3rd Academy Awards


1930 Oscars II 3rd Academy Awards

Winners Announced: 3rd Oscars ceremony was held on November 5, 1930
(The second was held on April 3, also 1930)
Held at: Fiesta Room (Ambassador Hotel)
Host: Conrad Nagel
Eligibility Year: August 1, 1929, and July 31, 1930

  • The Love Parade earned 6 nominations, but didn’t win any awards.
  • All Quiet on the Western Front was the first film to win both Best Picture and Best Director
  • Greta Garbo was eventually nominated 4 times, but never received the Academy Award.

1931 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Outstanding Production:
All Quiet on the Western Front – Carl Laemmle Jr., for Universal Studios (WINNER)
The Big House – Irving Thalberg for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
Disraeli – Jack L. Warner and Darryl F. Zanuck for Warner Bros.
The Divorcee – Robert Z. Leonard for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
The Love Parade – Ernst Lubitsch for Paramount Pictures

Best Director:
Lewis Milestone – All Quiet on the Western Front (WINNER)
Clarence Brown – Anna Christie
Robert Z. Leonard – The Divorcee
King Vidor – Hallelujah
Ernst Lubitsch – The Love Parade
Clarence Brown – Romance

Best Actor:
George Arliss – Disraeli as Benjamin Disraeli (WINNER)
George Arliss – The Green Goddess
Wallace Beery – The Big House
Maurice Chevalier – The Big Pond and The Love Parade
Ronald Colman – Bulldog Drummond and Condemned
Lawrence Tibbett – The Rogue Song

Best Actress:

Norma Shearer – The Divorcee as Jerry Martin (WINNER)
Nancy Carroll – The Devil’s Holiday
Ruth Chatterton – Sarah and Son
Greta Garbo – Anna Christie and Romance
Norma Shearer – Their Own Desire
Gloria Swanson – The Trespasser

Best Writing:
The Big House – Frances Marion (WINNER)
All Quiet on the Western Front – George Abbott, Maxwell Anderson, and Del Andrews, based on the novel by Erich Maria Remarque
Disraeli – Julien Josephson, based on the play by Louis N. Parker
The Divorcee – John Meehan, based on the novel Ex-Wife by Ursula Parrott
Street of Chance – Howard Estabrook, based on a story by Oliver H. P. Garrett

Best Sound Recording:
The Big House – Douglas Shearer (WINNER)
The Case of Sergeant Grischa – John E. Tribby
The Love Parade – Franklin Hansen
Raffles – Oscar Lagerstrom
Song of the Flame – George Groves

Best Art Direction:
King of Jazz – Herman Rosse (WINNER)
Bulldog Drummond – William Cameron Menzies
The Love Parade – Hans Dreier
Sally – Jack Okey
The Vagabond King – Hans Dreier

Best Cinematography:
With Byrd at the South Pole – Joseph T. Rucker and Willard Van der Veer (WINNER)
All Quiet on the Western Front – Arthur Edeson
Anna Christie – William Daniels
Hell’s Angels – Tony Gaudio and Harry Perry
The Love Parade – Victor Milner

Oscar® and Academy Awards® and Oscar® design mark are the trademarks and service marks and the Oscar© statuette the copyrighted property, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Pop Culture Madness is neither endorsed by nor affiliated with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.