1936 Oscars 8th Academy Awards

1936 Oscars 8th Academy Awards

Winners Announced: March 5, 1936
Held at: Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles, California
Host: Frank Capra
Eligibility Year: 1935
  • The 8th Academy Awards were held on March 5, 1936, at the Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles, California.
  • Frank Capra, who had won the Best Director Oscar for It Happened One Night at the previous ceremony, served as the host.
  • Films that graced the big screen during the calendar year 1935 were in the competition for awards.

Noteworthy Moments:

  • The ceremony made history as Mutiny on the Bounty became the last film to win Best Picture and nothing else, a rare feat in Oscar history.
  • Bette Davis won her second Best Actress Oscar for her role in Dangerous, becoming the first performer to win more than one acting Oscar.
  • The first Oscars for Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress were awarded, won by Walter Brennan for Come and Get It and Gale Sondergaard for Anthony Adverse, respectively.
  • A Midsummer Night’s Dream became the only film to win a write-in Oscar, taking Best Cinematography.


  1. This was the first year the Oscars were referred to as “Oscar” in the telecast, although the nickname had been popular for years.
  2. This was the first and only time that write-in candidates were allowed, and Hal Mohr won Best Cinematography for A Midsummer Night’s Dream through a write-in.
  3. Walter Brennan’s win set him on a path to becoming one of the most decorated male actors in Oscar history; he would go on to win two more Best Supporting Actor awards.
  4. Frank Capra, as host, was also a Best Director nominee for Mr. Deeds Goes to Town but did not win.

1936 Oscar Nominees and Winners

Outstanding Production:
Mutiny on the Bounty – Frank Lloyd and Irving Thalberg for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (WINNER)
Alice Adams – Pandro S. Berman for RKO Pictures
Broadway Melody of 1936 – John W. Considine, Jr. for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
Captain Blood – Hal B. Wallis, Harry Joe Brown, and Gordon Hollingshead for Warner Bros. and Cosmopolitan
David Copperfield – David O. Selznick for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
The Informer – Cliff Reid for RKO Pictures
The Lives of a Bengal Lancer – Louis D. Lighton for Paramount
A Midsummer Night’s Dream – Henry Blanke for Warner Bros.
Les Misérables – Darryl F. Zanuck for 20th Century and United Artists
Naughty Marietta – Hunt Stromberg for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
Ruggles of Red Gap – Arthur Hornblow Jr. for Paramount
Top Hat – Pandro S. Berman for RKO Pictures
Best Director:
John Ford – The Informer (WINNER)
Michael Curtiz – Captain Blood (write-in, not official nomination)[2]
Henry Hathaway – The Lives of a Bengal Lancer
Frank Lloyd – Mutiny on the Bounty
Best Actor:
Victor McLaglen – The Informer as “Gypo” Nolan (WINNER)
Clark Gable – Mutiny on the Bounty as Fletcher Christian
Charles Laughton – Mutiny on the Bounty as Captain Bligh
Paul Muni – Black Fury (write-in, not official nomination)[3] as Joe Radek
Franchot Tone – Mutiny on the Bounty as Byam
Best Actress:
Bette Davis – Dangerous as Joyce Heath (WINNER)
Elisabeth Bergner – Escape Me Never as Gemma Jones
Claudette Colbert – Private Worlds as Dr. Jane Everest
Katharine Hepburn – Alice Adams as Alice Adams
Miriam Hopkins – Becky Sharp as Becky Sharp
Merle Oberon – The Dark Angel as Kitty Vane
Best Original Story:
The Scoundrel – Ben Hecht and Charles MacArthur (WINNER)
Broadway Melody of 1936 – Moss Hart
G Men – Gregory Rogers (pseudonym of Darryl F. Zanuck) (write-in, not official nomination)[4]
The Gay Deception – Don Hartman and Stephen Morehouse Avery
Best Adaptation:
The Informer – Dudley Nichols (refused), based on the novel by Liam O’Flaherty (WINNER)
Captain Blood – Casey Robinson, based on the novel by Rafael Sabatini (write-in, not official nomination)
The Lives of a Bengal Lancer – Achmed Abdullah, John L. Balderston, Waldemar Young, Grover Jones and William Slavens McNutt, based on the autobiography of Francis Yeats-Brown
Mutiny on the Bounty – Jules Furthman, Talbot Jennings and Carey Wilson, based on the novel by Charles Nordhoff and James Norman Hall
Best Live Action Short Subject, Comedy:
How to Sleep – Jack Chertok and MGM (WINNER)
Oh, My Nerves – Jules White and Columbia
Tit for Tat – Hal Roach and MGM
Best Live Action Short Subject, Novelty:
Wings Over Everest – Gaumont British and Skibo Productions (WINNER)
Audioscopiks – Pete Smith and MGM
Camera Thrills – Universal
Best Short Subject, Cartoon:
Three Orphan Kittens – Walt Disney Productions and United Artists (WINNER)
The Calico Dragon – Harman-Ising and MGM
Who Killed Cock Robin? – Walt Disney Productions and United Artists
Best Scoring:
The Informer – RKO Radio Studio Music Department (WINNER)
Captain Blood – Warner Bros.-First National Studio Music Department (write-in, not official nomination)
Mutiny on the Bounty – MGM Studio Music Department
Peter Ibbetson – Paramount Studio Music Department
Best Song:
“Lullaby of Broadway” from Gold Deggirs of 1935 – Music by Harry Warren; Lyrics by Al Dubin (WINNER)
“Cheek to Cheek” from Top Hat – Music and Lyrics by Irving Berlin
“Lovely to Look At” from Roberta – Music by Jerome Kern; Lyrics by Dorothy Fields and Jimmy McHugh
Best Sound Recording:
Naughty Marietta – Douglas Shearer (WINNER)
$1,000 a Minute – Republic Studio Sound Department
Bride of Frankenstein – Gilbert Kurland
Captain Blood – Nathan Levinson
The Dark Angel – Thomas T. Moulton
I Dream Too Much – Carl Dreher
The Lives of a Bengal Lancer – Franklin Hansen
Love Me Forever – John P. Livadary
Thanks a Million – E. H. Hansen
Best Art Direction:
The Dark Angel – Richard Day (WINNER)
The Lives of a Bengal Lancer – Hans Dreier and Roland Anderson
Top Hat – Carroll Clark and Van Nest Polglase
Best Cinematography:
A Midsummer Night’s Dream – Hal Mohr (WINNER) (write-in, not official nomination)
Barbary Coast – Ray June
The Crusades – Victor Milner
Les Misérables – Gregg Toland
Best Film Editing:
A Midsummer Night’s Dream – Ralph Dawson (WINNER)
David Copperfield – Robert J. Kern
The Informer – George Hively
The Lives of a Bengal Lancer – Ellsworth Hoagland
Les Misérables – Barbara McLean
Mutiny on the Bounty – Margaret Booth
Best Dance Direction:
Broadway Melody of 1936 and Folies Bergère de Paris – Dave Gould (WINNER)
All the King’s Horses and The Big Broadcast of 1936 – LeRoy Prinz
Broadway Hostess and Go into Your Dance – Bobby Connolly
Gold Deggirs of 1935 – Busby Berkeley
King of Burlesque – Sammy Lee
She – Benjamin Zemach
Top Hat – Hermes Pan
Best Assistant Director:
The Lives of a Bengal Lancer – Clem Beauchamp and Paul Wing (WINNER)
David Copperfield – Joseph M. Newman
Les Misérables – Eric Stacey
A Midsummer Night’s Dream – Sherry Shourds (write-in, not official nomination)
Academy Honorary Award:
D. W. Griffith – “For his distinguished creative achievements as director and producer and his invaluable initiative and lasting contributions to the progress of the motion picture arts.”
Oscar® and Academy Awards® and Oscar® design mark are the trademarks and service marks and the Oscar© statuette the copyrighted property, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Pop Culture Madness is neither endorsed by nor affiliated with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.